OSD and Win 8

User discussion and information resource forum for the TeraByte OS Deployment Tool Suite.

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby YAUN » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:35 pm

Problem solved as follows. First, @Eric, yes, Win 8's were installed after Win 7. Second, I tried the @Paul instructions, got file not found kind of message. Went to the referenced post and found needed step: get the Win 7 reserve partition a drive letter 'cause that's where \Boot lives. (The only other wrinkle is to make sure the OS you want to boot with in the VM is the default OS. Visual BCD is a help here. Otherwise, you wind up with the last OS booted as the default and this will cause a Winloader boot error in the VM.) Everything OK thereafter. Now, since we have copied, in this case, a three system boot record, we get the same selections in the VM as in the raw boot. To avoid selecting the only bootable OS every time, run Visual BCD in the running VM OS and delete the now non bootable OSs. The only problem is "hard error" when starting the VM reported by explorer.exe. Doesn't seem to affect anything as once the VM is up, all seems OK. I used Monolithic sparse SCSI when copying...is that the best choice? Selecting Virtual PC seemed to have problems one of which is no real indication of progress. This required letting it run for "a long time" and then hoping it was complete. VirtualBox said it couldn't recognized the VM format which probably means it didn't run long enough.
YAUN
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:26 pm

You had stated that the Windows 7 partition was active so I didn't include any instructions for accessing the System Reserved partition (wouldn't normally be necessary). Glad you figured it out.

You may need to adjust drivers for the VM to get rid of errors. Check if everything looks okay in Device Manager and if the VirtualBox drivers/tools are installed. I don't think there should be any problem with using Monolithic sparce SCSI, though perhaps VirtualBox perfers something else (I mainly use Workstation).
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby YAUN » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:02 pm

Well, I would have never gotten anywhere without you and Eric's help so much, much thanks!
YAUN
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby Eric » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:17 pm

Hum...
You said that the boot files were not within the Win7 partition, but within the SRP?
So it is the SRP that is the boot partition? Or do you have BIBM installed?

Normally, in that situation, copyp2v would copy the SRP, and not return an error.
Unless the SRP is not maked as "active" when running the script, or is upper than 500MiB...
Eric
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:53 am

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby YAUN » Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:05 pm

Yes; just checked again and \Boot (along with bootmgr) is not in the Win 7 partition but in the SRP which I guess makes it the boot partition. That partition is labeled System, Active, Primary Partition which I'm sure is as it has been all along (in other words, not knowing enough and being paranoid, I've not messed with it other than assign a drive letter for copyp2v to work as noted previoiusly). The Win 7 partition proper is simply labeled Primary Partition. Of course, none of this is "visible" until a drive letter is assigned to the SRP. No, BIBM is not installed but it may be helpful to know that Win 7 is installed in a 512 GB Intel SSD.
YAUN
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby Eric » Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:35 am

Many thanks for this feed back.
I understand that you have copied the boot files from the SRP to both Win8 installations. I understand that the SRP is on the same disk than the Win7 (the SSD), that it is correctly marked as "active" (so it's the boot partition), and that this SSD is the boot disc.
However, if copyp2v didn't find it, that's probably because this SSD does not have the number #0, but #1 (or #2). I'm just wondering how this could be, because, usually, the boot disc is the #0 one (unless I'm missing something...).

What would be really nice to have, is a partinfo listing.
Eric
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:53 am

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby YAUN » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:17 pm

Disk Manager reports a stripe set as disks 0 and 1, the Win 7 disk is 2, Win 8 is 3, Little Win 8 is 4, and another stripe set is 5 and 6. Hope this doesn't mean I've connected the disks to the built in SAS controller wrong. Kind of checked around but guess I'm not sure how to do partinfo.
YAUN
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: OSD and Win 8

Postby TeraByte Support » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:21 pm

partinfo is on the free downloads page. run partinfg, export a report.

"YAUN" wrote in message news:5290@public.tbosdt...

Disk Manager reports a stripe set as disks 0 and 1, the Win 7 disk is 2, Win
8 is 3, Little Win 8 is 4, and another stripe set is 5 and 6. Hope this
doesn't mean I've connected the disks to the built in SAS controller wrong.
Kind of checked around but guess I'm not sure how to do partinfo.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Previous

Return to OSD Tool Suite