script not mounting cifs share

User discussion and information resource forum for scripting of TeraByte products using script lanugages such as TBScript, VBScript, Batch Files, and more.

script not mounting cifs share

Postby badams_ios » Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:25 pm

Hi, I'm running Linux mint 17.3 and the latest IFL. My configuration is as follow:

/ is on the 1st drive and I want to backup the entire drive. /home is on an intel raid 5 and is backed up real time using syncovery so I don't need IFL to back that up. For what it's worth, my /etc/fstab successfully creates a network share to a NAS drive.

In the same folder of that same NAS share is a subfolder named images, where I want the backup to go.

I've gone all through the sudo ./makeGRUB and attached a script and I can reboot and select IFL from the boot menu. When I do, it brings up the gui asking if I want to make a backup, do a restore...etc. but doesn't automatically start a backup and IFL indicates no shares are mounted. I CAN make a drive using IFL's interface. Here's my script with all the ## removed for easier reading for you. I'm not going to display the functions because I've not changed any of that.

#export TERM=dumb I'm not ready to run a cron job yet so I haven't removed the #

redirectnull=n

protocol=cifs

IFLpath=/tbu/imagel

server="geqnap"
(I've tried the ip address as well)

share="ManCaveSync"

mountpoint=/home/cave-man/syncovery
(This is a folder I created on my /home drive which as I said is a separate raid 5 drive. I've also tried /media/syncovery which is on the / drive because that's where fstab mounts that permanent share.)

mountoptions="-o guest" (no login required)

number_image_commands=1
## Set [1] of image command line parameters (backup example given)
iflcmd1[1]="-b --d:l1"
iflcmd2[1]="--f:$mountpoint/images/myimage"
iflcmd3[1]="--vb --uy"
iflmessage[1]="Creating image myimage"

#################### End Configuration #######################################
badams_ios
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Oakdale, Ca

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby TeraByte Support » Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:42 pm

I'm not sure what that script is? Are you basing this off of something
else? Or are you trying to make your own bash script? For bash, you can
just have it run the cifs mount command, then run the ./imagel command line
with your parameters.

?

"badams_ios" wrote in message news:11240@public.scripting...

Hi, I'm running Linux mint 17.3 and the latest IFL. My configuration is as
follow:

/ is on the 1st drive and I want to backup the entire drive. /home is on an
intel raid 5 and is backed up real time using syncovery so I don't need IFL
to back that up. For what it's worth, my /etc/fstab successfully creates a
network share to a NAS drive.

In the same folder of that same NAS share is a subfolder named images, where
I want the backup to go.

I've gone all through the sudo ./makeGRUB and attached a script and I can
reboot and select IFL from the boot menu. When I do, it brings up the gui
asking if I want to make a backup, do a restore...etc. but doesn't
automatically start a backup and IFL indicates no shares are mounted. I CAN
make a drive using IFL's interface. Here's my script with all the ## removed
for easier reading for you. I'm not going to display the functions because
I've not changed any of that.

#export TERM=dumb I'm not ready to run a cron job yet so I haven't removed
the #

redirectnull=n

protocol=cifs

IFLpath=/tbu/imagel

server="geqnap"
(I've tried the ip address as well)

share="ManCaveSync"

mountpoint=/home/cave-man/syncovery
(This is a folder I created on my /home drive which as I said is a separate
raid 5 drive. I've also tried /media/syncovery which is on the / drive
because that's where fstab mounts that permanent share.)

mountoptions="-o guest" (no login required)

number_image_commands=1
## Set [1] of image command line parameters (backup example given)
iflcmd1[1]="-b --d:l1"
iflcmd2[1]="--f:$mountpoint/images/myimage"
iflcmd3[1]="--vb --uy"
iflmessage[1]="Creating image myimage"

#################### End Configuration
#######################################

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby badams_ios » Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:12 pm

Within the IFL archive is an archive called config.zip Within that are several scripts including ./makeGRUB which will add a menu item to the grub menu. One does not want to backup their / drive while it's mounted because files can change and there is no lock like for windows. Booting the IFL menu created by makeGRUB is like booting from a CD. No drives are mounted. Just like booting from the CD, you can add scripts to automate things. You can setup a SMB share to back things up to.

Near the bottom of the third article are sample scripts you can download and edit. So far, I cannot get the script to mount a share. The part that (I think) I'm having trouble with is the mount point. Example: In my fstab I have it set so that it mounts a SMB share. That mount point is off of the root of the drive at /media/syncronize. Reading the fstab and mounting a share to that location on the root of the drive is of course not possible when booting from the IFL item in grub because the drive is not mounted. At least that's my understanding. It's not reading the fstab. Within the script is a place to tell it the mount point. I have no idea how/where to mount the share if no drive is mounted. Again, I'm not sure that's the problem, because I'm a relative noob. My /home is on a seperate drive.

Default sample scripts attached.

How to add IFL to the boot menu
https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=586

Automating backups within IFL
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=354

Explains how to add scripts and includes samples.
https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=464
Attachments
ifl-smb.zip
(10.07 KiB) Downloaded 396 times
badams_ios
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Oakdale, Ca

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:44 pm

the mount point is just a folder (directory) on the local file system that
once you mount will have the contents of what you mounted instead of what
was in that directory (typically blank). So you point to whatever directory
you want it to mount as and then reference that folder path to get to the
contents.



"badams_ios" wrote in message news:11248@public.scripting...


Near the bottom of the third article are sample scripts you can download and
edit. So far, I cannot get the script to mount a share. The part that (I
think) I'm having trouble with is the mount point. Example: In my fstab I
have it set so that it mounts a SMB share. That mount point is off of the
root of the drive at /media/syncronize. Reading the fstab and mounting a
share to that location on the root of the drive is of course not possible
when booting from the IFL item in grub because the drive is not mounted. At
least that's my understanding. It's not reading the fstab. Within the script
is a place to tell it the mount point. I have no idea how/where to mount the
share if no drive is mounted. Again, I'm not sure that's the problem,
because I'm a relative noob. My /home is on a seperate drive.

Default sample scripts attached.

How to add IFL to the boot menu

[
https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=586
](https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=586)

Automating backups within IFL

[
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=354
](http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=354)

Explains how to add scripts and includes samples.

[
https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=464
](https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=464)


TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby badams_ios » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:20 am

Right, I keep getting that. But how does one mount to a file system that is not mounted? Isn't that the whole idea? I'm not mounting the file system because if I do, the files don't lock. No VSS or something like that.

Forgive my impatience, but I've been working on this on and off for several months now. I understand you're all busy, but I'd be willing to pay for some support. I've described my system in as much detail as I know how. I've attached the script I have edited. What would you charge me to edit my scrip and make it work?

I'm all for learning, but at some point I just want it to get to work. The answers here seem cryptic like, "If you can't figure it out, don't play with linux." I'm not playing with Linux. It's faster than Windows and does what I want for less money. I'm no guru, nor do I want to be. I'm retired. I build model wooden ships as a hobby, not learn scripting!

You have a great product and I like to support companies that are not giants. I've been using your products for almost a decade. Is that the problem? I bought it when it was something like version 1.2 and have gotten all the upgrades. For what it's worth I have turned DOZENS of companies onto your products before I retired. I'm old, I'm slow, maybe I'm even getting stupid. Sure feels like it.
badams_ios
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Oakdale, Ca

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:03 am

You would use the IFL file system. For example, you could use the /mnt folder or you could make a new folder (e.g. /mnt/syncovery). /mnt already exists and doesn't have anything mounted by default.

redirectnull=n
protocol=cifs
IFLpath=/tbu/imagel
server="geqnap"
share="ManCaveSync"
mountpoint=/mnt
mountoptions="-o guest"

Note that you may need to use the IP address or specify it in mountoptions instead of the server name.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: script not mounting cifs share

Postby badams_ios » Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:50 pm

Bingo! Thanks for tolerating my rant :oops:
badams_ios
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Oakdale, Ca


Return to Scripting