Can't use HP Factory Restore

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby Ed Smith » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:31 pm

I had a problem with Windows 8.1 on a HP 2000 Notebook. I decided to use the
factory restore using F-11 because I don't have any recent backups using
either IFD or IFL.

It failed and said the drive was locked.
I saw in a HP Forum to make that partition active and it would work.
I did that with BareMetal.
It still didn't work.
Now I get no OS installed.
or when I BIOS is changed to Legacy enabled I get Boot device not found.

I thought maybe somehow mark it as not active but I don't see how. Can you
and how ?

The drives are GPT because of all the HP partitions.

There are:

WINRE 400 mib NTFS
EFI System 260 mib EFI System
MS Reserved 128 mib NTFS
Basic Data 28,994 NTFS
This one blank 451 mib NTFS
Recovery 21,011 NTFS

I tried changing for on the recovery partition to MBR and no good.
Did the bootrec /fixmbr and the other couple commands that go with it and no
good.

I tried BareMetal and followed instructions for the BCD edit. I only did it
on Windows partition hoping to get back into Windows and/or get the recovery
partition working and no good. Now it says Missing operating system.

Should I try BCD edit on the recovery partition. I looked at but didn't know
how to edit it as I couldn't find no directions on doing it and only
directions for doing the Windows partition.

Tried from the 8.1 DVD the Startup Repair and it said it couldn't do it.

Has anyone any idea what went wrong and how I might be able to at least get
the recovery partition working so I can do a factory restore of my Windows.
I didn't get any disc with that computer. I was using my other computers 8.1
disc to try the startup repair.

Using HP F-11 I can get to factory restore but it also don't complete saying
can't do it. Don't remember the exact wording. HP sites seem to be of no
help for the problem.

Thanks for any insight on this,
Ed.

Ed Smith
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:14 am

Re: Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby Ed Smith » Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:30 pm

Update:
I finally got into Windows. When I was having the problem I went ahead and
made an image even though things weren't right.
I restored that image just to see what would happen. It got me back into
windows (don’t know why or how) but still Factory Restore wouldn't work.
Laptop came with win 8.0 then upgraded to 8.1. Maybe that corrupts or breaks
HP Factory Restore.

After that I used BareMetal Partition work to see what was there.
Previously all partitions were marked active and listed as below in in
original post.
Now that one that was blank for the name now says Recovered.
None are marked active viewing mbr.
I then for the heck of it wanted to make a backup and backup showed I think
EFI System partition in parentheses Active 2.
Anyway in windows as slow as it was got into settings to Update and Recovery
and did Reset PC.
It did the HP Factory Restore back to Windows 8.0.
Now will get all updates, upgrade to 8.1 and then Windows 10.
Have to upgrade to 10 before being able to do a clean install of 10.

Haven't tried the Factory Restore yet. Want to just to see if it now works
again.
It don't matter because I don't need it now but just curious to see if it
works again but can't at the moment as all the Windows
Updates are installing.

Thanks for hearing me,
Ed.

"Ed" wrote in message news:10286@public.bootitbm...

I had a problem with Windows 8.1 on a HP 2000 Notebook. I decided to use the
factory restore using F-11 because I don't have any recent backups using
either IFD or IFL.

It failed and said the drive was locked.
I saw in a HP Forum to make that partition active and it would work.
I did that with BareMetal.
It still didn't work.
Now I get no OS installed.
or when I BIOS is changed to Legacy enabled I get Boot device not found.

I thought maybe somehow mark it as not active but I don't see how. Can you
and how ?

The drives are GPT because of all the HP partitions.

There are:

WINRE 400 mib NTFS
EFI System 260 mib EFI System
MS Reserved 128 mib NTFS
Basic Data 28,994 NTFS
This one blank 451 mib NTFS
Recovery 21,011 NTFS

I tried changing for on the recovery partition to MBR and no good.
Did the bootrec /fixmbr and the other couple commands that go with it and no
good.

I tried BareMetal and followed instructions for the BCD edit. I only did it
on Windows partition hoping to get back into Windows and/or get the recovery
partition working and no good. Now it says Missing operating system.

Should I try BCD edit on the recovery partition. I looked at but didn't know
how to edit it as I couldn't find no directions on doing it and only
directions for doing the Windows partition.

Tried from the 8.1 DVD the Startup Repair and it said it couldn't do it.

Has anyone any idea what went wrong and how I might be able to at least get
the recovery partition working so I can do a factory restore of my Windows.
I didn't get any disc with that computer. I was using my other computers 8.1
disc to try the startup repair.

Using HP F-11 I can get to factory restore but it also don't complete saying
can't do it. Don't remember the exact wording. HP sites seem to be of no
help for the problem.

Thanks for any insight on this,
Ed.

Ed Smith
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:14 am

Re: Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby Brian K » Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:28 pm

Ed Smith wrote:

> Have to upgrade to 10 before being able to do a clean install of 10.
>

Ed, not necessarily. You can clean install and have an Activated Win10.

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ ... st.379551/
Brian K
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby mjnelson99 » Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:33 am

Brian,
An experienced computer guy says MUST upgrade first, then create the
DVD, etc., to do a clean install. He says also make sure 10 is activated
successfully as well.

That will make it easier to activate the clean install as long as no
major hardware changes have been made.

Make sure you create an image BEFORE doing anything!!!

So how does one get a clean install successfully w/o upgrading first?????
Mary

On 9/12/2015 1:28 AM, Brian K wrote:
> Ed Smith wrote:
>
>> Have to upgrade to 10 before being able to do a clean install of 10.
>>
>
> Ed, not necessarily. You can clean install and have an Activated Win10.
>
> [
> http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ ... st.379551/
> ](http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/how-to-do-a-clean-windows-10-install-without-upgrading-first.379551/)
>
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby Bob Coleman » Sat Sep 12, 2015 1:37 pm

mjnelson99 wrote:

>
> So how does one get a clean install successfully w/o upgrading first?????

I don't know anything about it, but the forum thread at the link in Brian's post above details the steps that are claimed to work.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Can't use HP Factory Restore

Postby Ed Smith » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:46 am

Thank you and will check out that link.

"Brian K" wrote in message news:10302@public.bootitbm...

Ed Smith wrote:

> Have to upgrade to 10 before being able to do a clean install of 10.
>

Ed, not necessarily. You can clean install and have an Activated Win10.

[
http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ ... st.379551/
](http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/how-to-do-a-clean-windows-10-install-without-upgrading-first.379551/)


Ed Smith
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:14 am


Return to BootIt Bare Metal