[Resolved]ADD PARTITION issues

User discussion and information resource forum for the TeraByte OS Deployment Tool Suite.
Post Reply
nemesis
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 12:25 pm

[Resolved]ADD PARTITION issues

Post by nemesis »

Hi, I'me having issues with the "ADD PARTITION" command. The documentation is extremely scarce.

Partitions for disk 0:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (222.18 KiB) Viewed 10041 times
I've tried a number of things:

Code: Select all

ADD PARTITION 0 8 16 11 "Test" /b 4096
disk 0, partition 8 which is first available partition id, 16Mib in size which easily fits, format as FAT32, partition name Test
This gives the error: Partition ID 0x8 not found

Code: Select all

ADD PARTITION 0 6 16 11 "Test" /b 4096
disk 0, partition 6 which is the partition id last on the disk, 16Mib in size which easily fits, format as FAT32, partition name Test
This gives the error: The target partition area must be unused

Code: Select all

ADD PARTITION 0 6 16 11 "Test" /b 4096
disk 0, partition 7 which is the highest existing partition id, 16Mib in size which easily fits, format as FAT32, partition name Test
This gives the error: The target partition area must be unused

So at this point I'm all out of ideas. What am I doing wrong?

The list of file system Id's is not complete in the documentation. Could someone provide me with all valid options?
Last edited by nemesis on Thu Aug 26, 2021 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Brian K
Posts: 2213
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by Brian K »

Davy,

Use this to see the Free Space...

LIST HD 0 /f /u /w /t /a=2048

Then...

add partition 0 0x82 8000 7 DATA1 2500 /a=2048

(0x82 is the unallocated free space chosen)
(8000 is partition size)
(7 is NTFS)
(DATA1 is name)
(2500 is FSB, if you omit it you get an Allocate High).
(Use the first number for the file system, not the h number eg Linux Native is 131)
Last edited by Brian K on Wed Aug 25, 2021 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Brian K
Posts: 2213
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by Brian K »

Here is a summary I made ages ago...

resize 5 0x01 3500 /a=2048 (3500 is new size)
resize 5 0x01 /a=2048 (full size)

slide 5 0x03 0 /a=2048
slide 5 0x03 /a=2048 (allocate high)

add partition 5 0x80 8000 7 DATA1 2500 /a=2048
add partition 5 0x80 8000 7 DATA1 0 /a=2048
add partition 5 0x80 8000 7 DATA1 /a=2048 (allocate high)

del partition 5 0x01

copy partition 5 0x01 1 0x81 1000 /a=2048
copy partition 5 0x01 1 0x81 0 /a=2048
copy partition 5 0x01 1 0x81 /a=2048 (allocate high)
Last edited by Brian K on Wed Aug 25, 2021 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Brian K
Posts: 2213
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by Brian K »

nemesis wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 11:39 am The list of file system Id's is not complete in the documentation. Could someone provide me with all valid options?
See BootIt, Partition Work, Create, File System.
nemesis
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 12:25 pm

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by nemesis »

Hi Brian,

wow thnx for the detailed write up mate! I'll go through it today and get back to you!

Davy
nemesis
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 12:25 pm

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by nemesis »

[Edit: added the casue of the error and resolution]
As you can see the partition is now being creating, which is great! (had to take a part of the return to keep the size down)
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (77.74 KiB) Viewed 10002 times
However, the format fails with: Error 13 occurred during format

Code: Select all

ADD PARTITION 0 0x81 16 11 "Test" /b=4096
----Edit from here----
Cause: Partition size to small to format in FAT32
Resolution: Bigger partition size
Brian K
Posts: 2213
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by Brian K »

You can change the Partition GUID Type, if needed....

set part type 1 0x04 {DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC}
nemesis
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 12:25 pm

Re: ADD PARTITION issues

Post by nemesis »

Hi Brian,

yeah, I do need to do this. Thank you.

Regards, davy
Post Reply