remote access to bootit

User discussion forum for items related to technology in general.
Post Reply
zephyr98
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:34 pm

remote access to bootit

Post by zephyr98 »

periodically i find it would be very helpful to be able to edit the bootit control record. for example, i have several bootable partitions on a windows box. and several windows boxes. and i want to edit/ reorder etc the bootit record by simply using rdp to get remote access to one of the partitions. and then edit bootit control record.

using your bootnow feature, i can select any partition and just go there.

is that possible? this is not direct remote access of course, but it really gets close.
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3061
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by TeraByte Support »

what is different than using bootnow to select? With BIBM/BIU the .bbm file is text so don't need a special tool to update like in BING.
zephyr98
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:34 pm

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by zephyr98 »

first ive beard of the bbm text file.

so my question is really, how does a windows client get access to this bbm text file. i infer that the bbm is located in the bootit partition since being in the root

assume bbm has boot menu for win1, win2, win3, centos. and assume im in win2.

it would be wonderful to be able to
1. change boot order to win1, centos, win3, win2.
2. edit the bbm entry for centos and change the partitions that would be active on bootup. this allows me a workaround on the 4 primary partition rule for mbr. (i can select 4 from the current embr). i could then go into win1, do my business, and then go back to win2.
zephyr98
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:34 pm

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by zephyr98 »

had couple typos. fixed.

first ive beard of the bbm text file.

so my question is really, how does a windows client get access to this bbm text file. i infer that the bbm is located in the bootit partition since being in a client session would NOT have access the bbm root. (ie bootit partition is not visible).

assume bbm has boot menu for win1, win2, win3, centos. and assume im in win2.

it would be wonderful to be able to
1. change boot order to win1, centos, win3, win2.
2. edit the bbm entry for centos and change the partitions that would be active on bootup. this allows me a workaround on the 4 primary partition rule for mbr. (i can select 4 from the current embr). i could then go into centos, do my business, and then go back to win2. one of the business items could be doing as backup of a partition in which im not an active account.
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3061
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by TeraByte Support »

you could use tbosdt and TBScript.
zephyr98
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:34 pm

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by zephyr98 »

your reply was a bit too terse.

are you saying what i was describing is available in your deployment tool suite? and thats available as one of your licensed products? just trying to understand.

if thats the case, ill investigate that after i find out how to get bootnow running under debian 10.9. so far i get nothing but a nasty segmentation fault error.
Brian K
Posts: 1934
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by Brian K »

> ill investigate that after i find out how to get bootnow
> running under debian 10.9. so far i get nothing but a nasty segmentation
> fault error.

zephyr98,

It's been a while but I think this is what I did in UEFI Linux Mint...
Make sure bootnowu has Execute Permissions.
Install the 32-bit libraries.
ifl is a Boot Item
From a terminal I run...
sudo bjk/bn/bootnowu ifl

Mint restarts and ifl boots

Edit... I think this was an essential 32-bit library

sudo apt-get install libc6-i386 lib32stdc++6 lib32gcc1 lib32ncurses5 lib32z1
Brian K
Posts: 1934
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: remote access to bootit

Post by Brian K »

The setup for a MBR system is similar except you must use drvmap.inf
Post Reply