VMWare

User discussion and information resource forum for the TeraByte OS Deployment Tool Suite.
Post Reply
RFSndrs
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:42 pm

VMWare

Post by RFSndrs »

I bought a copy of BiBM and IFW and am just starting to play around with the OSD Tool suite. I have used Virtual Box and Virtual PC in the past but not VMWare. When I went to their site (VMWare) I had numerous problems trying to get a password to work. It also seemed to be for a 30 day trial application.

My question is: "Is VMWare a commercial product? i.e. Does one have to pay for it or is it open source (free)?"

Thanks,
Bob Sanders
TeraByte Support(PP)
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:51 am

Re: VMWare

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

VMWare Player is free for personal non-commercial use, but it's not open source. Workstation would be a trial (if you haven't purchased it).
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
RFSndrs
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: VMWare

Post by RFSndrs »

Thank you!!
celavey
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 2:50 am

Re: VMWare

Post by celavey »

Is there a step by step instruction on how to link your VMware to your software?
zeeshan123
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:40 am

Re: VMWare

Post by zeeshan123 »

Something is wrong, or I do not understand how the program works, probably the later.
I set the size to 250GiB and it started working, but failed on the partition resize step. It does not seem logical this would work, as the free space I had on the drive to recover the VHD was 154GiB free. The actual size of the drive I am recovering was 80GiB, on a original partition of 214Gib.


______________________________
We offer guaranteed success for [url=http://www.test-king.com/exams/117-201.htm]117-201 braindumps[/url] exam with help of latest [url=http://www.test-king.com/exams/NS0-156.htm]Test king.com[/url] certification and [url=http://www.fit.edu/]fit.edu[/url] practice questions and the exams of [url=http://www.sterling.edu/]sterling[/url] ccie security [url=http://www.mcdaniel.edu/]www.mcdaniel.edu[/url]
Last edited by zeeshan123 on Sat Jan 10, 2015 4:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
TeraByte Support(PP)
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:51 am

Re: VMWare

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

The resize can fail if there are file system errors on the partition being restored. You may need to restore it without resizing and then check it for errors. The disk size for the VHD can be larger than available space on the partition where the VHD file is created (use dynamic expanding). However, there must still be enough space available to do the restore (the VHD must have enough room to expand to hold the restored data).
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
Post Reply