Windows 7 restore different PC

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.
Post Reply
CWeis
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:08 pm

Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by CWeis »

I am trying to restore a windows 7 64bit PC hard drive image I created with IFL onto a different PC.

I keep getting the message, "The target drive cannot be used because other partitions already occupy one or more of the target locations".

Message seems plain enough, but there are no partitions defined on the target drive. Did I not create the image correctly or what would the possibilities be? I have been able to create and restore images for XP computers with no problems. I mounted an external USB hard drive to select the image file from ( /dev/sdc1/, and then selected the physical drive for extraction (sda). I am sure the answer may be right in front of me, but what am I possibly missing?

Thanks
-Chris
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3059
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by TeraByte Support »

You created a multi-partition backup instead of an entire drive backup and
one of the partitions must go beyond the end of the drive (or starts before
the lowest starting point). Easiest if you create an entire drive backup
and do an entire drive restore when multiple partitions exist. Otherwise,
you may have to restore one at a time.

"CWeis" wrote in message news:2777@public.image...

I am trying to restore a windows 7 64bit PC hard drive image I created with
IFL onto a different PC.

I keep getting the message, "The target drive cannot be used because other
partitions already occupy one or more of the target locations".

Message seems plain enough, but there are no partitions defined on the
target drive. Did I not create the image correctly or what would the
possibilities be? I have been able to create and restore images for XP
computers with no problems. I mounted an external USB hard drive to select
the image file from ( /dev/sdc1/, and then selected the physical drive for
extraction (sda). I am sure the answer may be right in front of me, but what
am I possibly missing?

Thanks
-Chris

brianmjc
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by brianmjc »

Hi. Just wanted to say it would be nice if IfD could resize partitions. Automatically ideally, or at least manually.

I ran into the same error as CWeis today. And the solution to simply image an entire drive wouldn't work in my case. I have a 1 TB hard disk with 3 partitions (100MB system, a 117 GB Win7 OS partition, and a partition for my Data), and wanted to copy just the first 2 partitions to a new SSD (with 111 GB total space) on the same computer, keeping my data on the 1 TB drive. If it can't adjust for an extra 6 GB, it certainly can't image my entire 1 TB drive to the SSD. And that 6 GB difference means the difference between a simple 1 hour image copy and a full day's worth of online research of the problem, many failed attempts to bypass the problem, and other extra steps... whereas it would be nice if on the first try IfD was able to see that ~40 GB are free on my C partition and it could simply be shrunk to fit without data loss. Highly annoying. Thanks!
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3059
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by TeraByte Support »

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554


"brianmjc" wrote in message news:9531@public.image...

Hi. Just wanted to say it would be nice if IfD could resize partitions.
Automatically ideally, or at least manually.

I ran into the same error as CWeis today. And the solution to simply image
an entire drive wouldn't work in my case. I have a 1 TB hard disk with 3
partitions (100MB system, a 117 GB Win7 OS partition, and a partition for my
Data), and wanted to copy just the first 2 partitions to a new SSD (with 111
GB total space) on the same computer, keeping my data on the 1 TB drive. If
it can't adjust for an extra 6 GB, it certainly can't image my entire 1 TB
drive to the SSD. And that 6 GB difference means the difference between a
simple 1 hour image copy and a full day's worth of online research of the
problem, many failed attempts to bypass the problem, and other extra
steps... whereas it would be nice if on the first try IfD was able to see
that ~40 GB are free on my C partition and it could simply be shrunk to fit
without data loss. Highly annoying. Thanks!

mjnelson99
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:24 am

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by mjnelson99 »

That article makes me ask the question of what is the difference between
compact and defrag?
Usually, a defrag will move scattered bits unless there are a few that
cannot be moved (that I have found).
Mary

On 4/16/2015 5:12 PM, TeraByte Support wrote:
> http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
>
>
> "brianmjc" wrote in message news:9531@public.image...
>
> Hi. Just wanted to say it would be nice if IfD could resize partitions.
> Automatically ideally, or at least manually.
>
> I ran into the same error as CWeis today. And the solution to simply image
> an entire drive wouldn't work in my case. I have a 1 TB hard disk with 3
> partitions (100MB system, a 117 GB Win7 OS partition, and a partition for my
> Data), and wanted to copy just the first 2 partitions to a new SSD (with 111
> GB total space) on the same computer, keeping my data on the 1 TB drive. If
> it can't adjust for an extra 6 GB, it certainly can't image my entire 1 TB
> drive to the SSD. And that 6 GB difference means the difference between a
> simple 1 hour image copy and a full day's worth of online research of the
> problem, many failed attempts to bypass the problem, and other extra
> steps... whereas it would be nice if on the first try IfD was able to see
> that ~40 GB are free on my C partition and it could simply be shrunk to fit
> without data loss. Highly annoying. Thanks!
>
>
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3059
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by TeraByte Support »

defrag makes the files contiguous. the original ones did both, the new ones may
offer an option to compact as well.

"MJNelson" wrote in message news:9534@public.image...

That article makes me ask the question of what is the difference between
compact and defrag?
Usually, a defrag will move scattered bits unless there are a few that
cannot be moved (that I have found).
Mary

On 4/16/2015 5:12 PM, TeraByte Support wrote:
> http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
>
>
> "brianmjc" wrote in message news:9531@public.image...
>
> Hi. Just wanted to say it would be nice if IfD could resize partitions.
> Automatically ideally, or at least manually.
>
> I ran into the same error as CWeis today. And the solution to simply image
> an entire drive wouldn't work in my case. I have a 1 TB hard disk with 3
> partitions (100MB system, a 117 GB Win7 OS partition, and a partition for
> my
> Data), and wanted to copy just the first 2 partitions to a new SSD (with
> 111
> GB total space) on the same computer, keeping my data on the 1 TB drive.
> If
> it can't adjust for an extra 6 GB, it certainly can't image my entire 1 TB
> drive to the SSD. And that 6 GB difference means the difference between a
> simple 1 hour image copy and a full day's worth of online research of the
> problem, many failed attempts to bypass the problem, and other extra
> steps... whereas it would be nice if on the first try IfD was able to see
> that ~40 GB are free on my C partition and it could simply be shrunk to
> fit
> without data loss. Highly annoying. Thanks!
>
>
mounaime10
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:29 pm

Re: Windows 7 restore different PC

Post by mounaime10 »

Using command line:
Dispart
List disk
Sel disk 0
List par
Sel par 1
Delete par override
Its the same for other partitions
Exit
Then the restauration will work correctly
Post Reply