Any ideas to get IFL USB to boot on Dell XPS 15 9500 laptop?

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.
ComputerOwl

Any ideas to get IFL USB to boot on Dell XPS 15 9500 laptop?

Post by ComputerOwl »

Hi everyone...

This is my first post here - so I hope I enter this ok!

Fast background: I've been using Ghost/Ghost Solution Suite for about 20+ years primarily via "stand-alone" cold-boot mode from a USB Flash Drive. This has been mainly on ~ 12 year old multi-boot Windows MBR BIOS computers.

I'm now trying to get ramped up on imaging UEFI computers - and I'm also looking for a possible "replacement" or "backup" imaging software solution for Ghost (though I'm still actively using the current Ghost SS 3.3 RU4 for the time being). I've also had some good recent success so far with the Macrium Reflect (free version) software.

After a lot of research/etc, I "splurged" on the "full" TeraByte Special Bundle within the last week.

My original plan/goal was to use Image For Linux (IFL) in "cold-boot" mode to do imaging and minor partition work - all from the same USB Flash Drive.

However, after hours and hours of work/research/testing/etc, I cannot get the IFL USB drive to successfully boot on my (very) new Dell XPS 15 9500 4K laptop (which is a UEFI laptop/system).

In a nutshell, now matter how I've tried to configure the IFL USB Flash Drive (UFD) media via the IFL MakeDisk.exe utility program, I get the following:

* Initial IFL grub boot menu shows up ok on laptop screen (although in very small characters on this 4K display/screen - but usable/workable).

* Then no matter what I try to do from there - when it attempts to boot into IFL - I get a blank, black screen (which it never gets out of this blank/black screen - over 10 or 15+ minutes or longer I've waited).