Questions Regarding Byte4Byte Errors

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Questions Regarding Byte4Byte Errors

Postby StargateCOlorado » Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:00 pm

I am getting Byte4Byte errors on my backups (IFW 3.38, Simple mode, running on the latest version of Win10 Pro)). This is on a brand-new laptop that contains a 512GB PCie NVMe M.2 SSD. I have attached my IFW.LOG file that shows what is happening. The first few backups went fine without errors. Then huge blocks started showing mismatches. I found it interesting that it does it on big blocks of sequential sectors. Also, the same LBAs showed up in two different runs (line 237 of the [04/08/2020 05:22:57 PM] backup and line 3393 of the [04/08/2020 07:26:26 PM] backup -- I'm using Notepad to get these numbers). Other times, it was different sectors.

As part of my troubleshooting, I changed out the backup drive to see if that might be the problem. I got the same failures.

Finally, I turned off B4B and did a simple validate. That time, I got a read failure (see line 4074 in the [04/08/2020 08:04:09 PM] backup attempt.

To me, this smells like a bad SSD -- do others concur?

I did some further testing. I ran "CHKDSK C: /scan" on the SSD. It found NO errors, but it only took maybe 15 seconds to complete the run, so I'm certain it didn't check the SSD very thoroughly.

So, here's my question: before I contact the manufacturer, I want to run a low-level scan of the SSD; CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND A GOOD TOOL TO USE?

--Ernie

P.S. It won't let me upload the log file (.LOG and .TXT extensions aren't allowed) HOW DO I UPLOAD IT? I hate to paste the entire thing into the post!
StargateCOlorado
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 9:30 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Questions Regarding Byte4Byte Errors

Postby haskell » Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:58 am

> P.S. It won't let me upload the log file (.LOG and .TXT extensions aren't allowed) HOW DO I UPLOAD IT? I hate to paste the entire thing into the post!

Pasting it between BBCode Code tags may help. The whole blurb is there, but only a portion in a scrollable window visible.
[code]
Oh, I have BBCode enabled, but doesn't work. So the administrator will have disabled the use globally.
Sorry for the noise.
[\code]
*edited*
-- haskell
haskell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:37 am

Re: Questions Regarding Byte4Byte Errors

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Thu Apr 09, 2020 1:55 pm

If you're also getting errors on a standard validation there may be other things going on. Have you checked the destination drive? Can you successfully validate backups that already exist on it?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Questions Regarding Byte4Byte Errors

Postby TeraByte Support » Fri Apr 10, 2020 10:01 am

Always start with https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=151

B4B should work on NVMe because the specs basically match DRAT requirements.

One thing is always a good idea to run memory test on new systems, more
often than you'd like they come with bad memory. I found that in
general when working IT, if the new device (whatever it was) lasted 30
days it had a good chance of lasting for years, 90 days, good to go.

Sometimes issue can be hard to find. After several years of good
backups, I was starting to get occasional byte for byte validation
errors on my main systems nightly backup. Ran a memory test no issues,
cleaned everything out, still issues (sometimes one after the other and
other times several days later), ran memory test again, found some bad,
ah-ha I though, let me find which one, so tried each module (takes a
long time with multiple 4M modules), no issues, okay, I'll just replace
them all, did that, issue comes back in days. At this point I've seen
it be the L2 cache on the cpu, mobo issues, cable issues, etc.., so not
wanting to waste time (and since the mobo was a little dated) I decided
just buy a new mobo/cpu. So I end up getting a new case, mobo, cpu,
power supply, basically the full guts. I kept most of the drives, but
replaced the main SSD RAID 1 setup with a little Intel m2 and restored
the good image I made prior to shutting down the old system. After
that, no more issue, been about 8 months now. Something was going flaky
on that old unit, it have been easier if it would have just died or had
a problem every time it was run.

On 4/8/2020 9:00 PM, StargateCOlorado wrote:
> I am getting Byte4Byte errors on my backups (IFW 3.38, Simple mode, running on the latest version of Win10 Pro)). This is on a brand-new laptop that contains a 512GB PCie NVMe M.2 SSD.
TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2957
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows

cron