WHERE can I find error code translation?!

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Re: WHERE can I find error code translation?!

Postby GoogerGrape » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:52 pm

So after all this discussion, it appears to me that Terabyte Support truly cannot tell me what Error Code 32 means. Is this actually correct? Is it really true that the error code numbers are meaningless? Really?
GoogerGrape
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: WHERE can I find error code translation?!

Postby DrTeeth » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:37 am

On Wed, 30 Jan 2019 12:52:40 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
GoogerGrape disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>So after all this discussion, it appears to me that Terabyte Support truly cannot tell me what Error Code 32 means. Is this actually correct? Is it really true that the error code numbers are meaningless? Really?

I have also noticed that when I get an error code, I do not see
anything in the log to tell me what it means and I have to clag up
this forum with a request for information. A list would be very
useful. David F must have one somewhere ;-).
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Amateurs built the Ark, but professionals built the Titanic.**
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1218
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: WHERE can I find error code translation?!

Postby tas3086 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:37 pm

Unless Terabyte Unlimited is not the creator of the code....That would be the only reason that they would not know what the error codes mean. If they programmed the code, they would know what the codes mean. But this is hard to believe as they are very quick to make corrections when a problem is found. So maybe they outsource the development, and the developer holds the property rights to the code.

Either way, still confusing, but they are a a lot better and more reliable and responsive than their competition.
tas3086
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Re: WHERE can I find error code translation?!

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:22 pm

This is been addressed in the past. All the error codes are generic. You
need to look at the details of the message output by the program to know the
details. If you don't have a place to save the .log, just run it without
the /uy /um options so that you get messages in the UI that will have any
error messages reported there (you'll have to be there to hit enter).
Error 32 is a generic either "out of space" or "no free space" error.

You can always email support@ as this is more of a user-to-user support group
that we sometimes respond in.
TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: WHERE can I find error code translation?!

Postby tas3086 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:47 pm

TeraByte Support wrote:
> This is been addressed in the past. All the error codes are generic.

Sorry, there is no such thing as a generic error code. It's like saying that you gave me a generic answer.... If this is your code, you know the error codes. If the code came from someone else's code then you need to know what their error codes mean so you can determine what is good or bad for your system. That's why we need to know what the code is before it happens, so we can program our systems to react to whatever your code tells us. (Hows that from a 37 year Systems Designer, Developer and Programmer.! )

I'll send an email to support and see if they can give us the generic error codes. I'll keep all informed to the reply.
tas3086
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Previous

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows