Manual issue

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Manual issue

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:08 am

I am trying to clone/copy my drive to an SSD. The copy options in the
latest manual (2018/12/06) do not match those in IfW 3.25.

I was getting errors and could not complete the operation. I was
trying to change the disk signature as Win 10 protested that there was
a clash, but the option is in the manual but not the app.
--
Cheers,

DrT

*** The problem with marriage is ***
*** that there's no casting vote!! ***
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Manual issue

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:02 pm

I assume you're referring to the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option (when copying an entire disk) or the "Change GUID" option (when copying a single partition). Both are in IFW 3.25 as well as the manual. The manual shows the options (and screenshot) for a single partition copy with the entire disk copy options listed below those. I would guess you're wanting to use the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option. Otherwise, can you provide more details on what you're seeing (or not seeing)?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Manual issue

Postby DrTeeth » Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:48 am

On Sat, 19 Jan 2019 11:02:05 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
TeraByte Support(PP) disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>I assume you're referring to the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option (when copying an entire disk) or the "Change GUID" option (when copying a single partition). Both are in IFW 3.25 as well as the manual. The manual shows the options (and screenshot) for a single partition copy with the entire disk copy options listed below those. I would guess you're wanting to use the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option. Otherwise, can you provide more details on what you're seeing (or not seeing)?
>
On page 110 of the manual, there is a screenshot of the copy
options, and there is a "copy disk signature". On page 111, the second
paragraph is dedicated to this option.

I have seen what happens, the options on that picture are for copying
partitions and not a whole drive, which is what I am trying to do. The
manual gives the impression that the same options are visible for
drives and partitions, and that is not the case.

I am trying to close my OS drive to a new SSD on Win 10 (x64). I now
have a replacement drive as the first one gave errors no matter what
software I used.

I want to use IfW to do this with the correct alignment for my SSD
without windows showing an error that two disks with the same
signature exist on my system.

Any tips anybody?
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Amateurs built the Ark, but professionals built the Titanic.**
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Manual issue

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:28 am

The paragraph above the image mentions there are differences: During the copy process, you can set a variety of options. These options will vary depending on whether you are copying an entire disk or a partition. Options available when copying a partition are shown in the figure below.

In any case, you would want to use the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option which is available when copying the entire disk (page 114).

If you are replacing a disk you can usually leave them unchanged. Do the copy then shutdown and remove the original disk (put the new one in its place if you want). The new disk should come online since there is no longer a signature collision.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Manual issue

Postby DrTeeth » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:22 am

On Sun, 20 Jan 2019 10:28:08 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
TeraByte Support(PP) disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>The paragraph above the image mentions there are differences: During the copy process, you can set a variety of options. These options will vary depending on whether you are copying an entire disk or a partition. Options available when copying a partition are shown in the figure below.

But not what those differences are. A screenshot of the copy disk
screen would have been useful.

>In any case, you would want to use the "Change Disk ID and GUIDs" option which is available when copying the entire disk (page 114).

I would want to change the former, but not the latter as I use a
common swap partition for all of my eight Linux distros.

>If you are replacing a disk you can usually leave them unchanged.

That is my plan.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Amateurs built the Ark, but professionals built the Titanic.**
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Manual issue

Postby DrTeeth » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:00 am

On Mon, 21 Jan 2019 07:22:59 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
DrTeeth disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>I would want to change the former, but not the latter as I use a
>common swap partition for all of my eight Linux distros.

Got confused between the GUID and UUID.

The problem was, after having returned the first SSD as being faulty,
was that the SATA -> USB3 converter was corrupting data or causing
write errors. Even I, with my bad luck with faulty purchases, thought
it too much of a coincidence that I could get 2 faulty SSDs. Once I
connected the second SSD to a SATA port on my motherboard, the copy
went well and no ID clashes.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Amateurs built the Ark, but professionals built the Titanic.**
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Manual issue

Postby Brian K » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:06 pm

DrT,

Are the OS on the SSD performing better than on the HD?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1491
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Manual issue

Postby DrTeeth » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:05 pm

On Mon, 21 Jan 2019 22:06:00 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
Brian K disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>DrT,
>
>Are the OS on the SSD performing better than on the HD?

I am not exactly blown away. Things are faster, but not earth
shatteringly so. It is early days yet. need to double-check that the
alignment is correct and that all my Linux distros have trim running.

Shoot me an email and I'll give you more info on the SSD and my recent
hardware upgrade and performance.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Amateurs built the Ark, but professionals built the Titanic.**
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows