Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby chileverde » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:49 pm

I would like to try Changes Only backups (have done only full backups so far).

The User Manual states that employing Use Metadata Hash Files "in conjunction with Create Sector Hash Files can greatly decrease the time required to create the backup." So I am thinking I will use both options, except that there is this ominous warning: "NOTE: You should only use this option if you understand its impact on backup and restore operations." Can you please explain what this refers to? I'd rather have a slower BU if the result is less reliable or there is some other risk.

Another relevant quote from the Manual:

Use Directory Data in Metadata Hash – Enable this option to have Image for
Windows look at the full contents of directories to calculate the metadata hash. This
can prevent validate byte-for-byte errors due to normal and safe changes in the
directory area, but requires more processing gathering information.

Any reason not to choose the above setting if I am going to enable Use Metadata Hash Files?
chileverde
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby DrTeeth » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:44 am

On Sun, 3 Jun 2018 15:49:45 EDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
chileverde disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>Any reason not to choose the above setting if I am going to enable Use Metadata Hash Files?

They are more risky than not using them. More info here
https://tinyurl.com/ydbycwa4, it's a forum thread here.

I backup at the end of the day as a rule so do not care how long a
backup takes. I only use sector hash files.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby chileverde » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:44 pm

Thanks so much, Dr. Teeth. Decided to check in and found your reply today; don't know why I did not get the e-mail notification.

I did my first changes-only BU of the partition that holds most of my data today, and it took only 1½ minutes, so that's fast enough.

I am generally using VSS, which, as I understand things, should avoid the risks of /usemd, but since my BU took so little time, I'll not take any chances with /usemd. I will leave "Create Sector Hash Files" checked, as that is now the recommended default and apparently does not add risk.

CV

DrTeeth wrote:
>
> >Any reason not to choose the above setting if I am going to enable Use
> Metadata Hash Files?
>
> They are more risky than not using them. More info here
> https://tinyurl.com/ydbycwa4, it's a forum thread here.
chileverde
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby rseiler » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:59 am

Copying and pasting from another thread:

"As of version 3.19 the default has gone back to not creating the hash."
rseiler
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby chileverde » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:21 am

Was that on a clean install? I installed 3.19 over 3.18, and my options (which I had saved previously) still show "create sector hash files" checked.
chileverde
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby rseiler » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:34 am

Not sure about that upgrade scenario (assuming that you didn't set that yourself at the time).

3.20 is out now, btw. I checked the latest PDF (dated from 3.19), and it does indicate that the default is off.
rseiler
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby TeraByte Support » Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:28 am

doesn't say that anymore so mush have been the old version. Although in
translations it may.


"chileverde" wrote in message news:15184@public.image...

Was that on a clean install? I installed 3.19 over 3.18, and my options
(which I had saved previously) still show "create sector hash files"
checked.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby rseiler » Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:08 am

/hash: "Default if omitted: Image for Windows does not create the hash file during a backup operation."

Also, in the section about the GUI, it says "Select this option to have Image for Windows create a hash file..."
rseiler
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 3:29 pm

Previous

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows

cron