Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby Bob Coleman » Fri May 04, 2018 6:47 pm

Create Sector Hash Files seems to be a default option in all the 3.18 image programs.

I don't know whether this should be considered a bug, but as far as I know it's never been the case before.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby Brian K » Fri May 04, 2018 7:39 pm

Bob,

Check out /hash:0 in the User Manual.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Fri May 04, 2018 9:16 pm

It's also noted in the upgrade history.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1338
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby Bob Coleman » Sat May 05, 2018 8:11 am

Brian K wrote:
> Bob,
>
> Check out /hash:0 in the User Manual.

Yes, I found that. I was commenting only on the default.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby Bob Coleman » Sat May 05, 2018 8:12 am

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> It's also noted in the upgrade history.

Indeed it is. My fault for not absorbing that.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby rseiler » Sun May 06, 2018 9:16 am

It's an interesting default. I guess it's assuming that most people also do a Changes Only backup later on? Or maybe that creating the hash file doesn't take much extra time or space, so it's good to do by default just in any case?
rseiler
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby DrTeeth » Sun May 06, 2018 10:01 am

On Sun, 6 May 2018 12:16:08 EDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
rseiler disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>It's an interesting default. I guess it's assuming that most people also do a Changes Only backup later on? Or maybe that creating the hash file doesn't take much extra time or space, so it's good to do by default just in any case?

I have always used this option. It speeds up changes only backups. I
have a full backup, which gets replaced not more frequently than
2-3weeks. I then have two folders off that full backup. When one gets
to the stage where I have to scroll the list of changes backups, I
swap to the second folder. When that is half full-ish, I delete the
contents of the other folder.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun May 06, 2018 5:58 pm

a lot of people didn't know to use it when planning on doing differential /
incremential.


"rseiler" wrote in message news:14907@public.image...

It's an interesting default. I guess it's assuming that most people also do
a Changes Only backup later on? Or maybe that creating the hash file
doesn't take much extra time or space, so it's good to do by default just in
any case?

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun May 06, 2018 7:48 pm

although not sure that default should be the default. perhaps more of a
question on setup or a suppressible hint on the dialog or choosing
differential when they don't exist.


"TeraByte Support" wrote in message news:14909@public.image...

a lot of people didn't know to use it when planning on doing differential /
incremential.


"rseiler" wrote in message news:14907@public.image...

It's an interesting default. I guess it's assuming that most people also do
a Changes Only backup later on? Or maybe that creating the hash file
doesn't take much extra time or space, so it's good to do by default just in
any case?

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2764
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Create Sector Hash Files default in 3.18

Postby DrTeeth » Mon May 07, 2018 6:27 am

On Sun, 6 May 2018 22:48:42 EDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
"TeraByte Support" disturbed my
reverie and wrote:

>although not sure that default should be the default. perhaps more of a
>question on setup or a suppressible hint on the dialog

Is there any downside at all having this option selected as the
default? AIUI, there are only benefits.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Next

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows