IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.
Post Reply
paul_6
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:06 pm

IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by paul_6 »

Hi,
To run IFD 3.43 (44) from a Dos floppy (yes, sorry, a DOS-floppy..) I need the file 'IFD.dat'. I have an old one IFD.dat (coming from?? I do not remember) that works with IFD3.06a. But it it does not work with 3.43/4. Some help please?? Thanks.
Paul Brussels Belgium
TeraByte Support(PP)
Posts: 1484
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:51 am

Re: IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

The IFD.DAT file is included in the IFD GUI zip download. Are you saying it's missing when you create the disk?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
paul_6
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:06 pm

Re: IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by paul_6 »

Thanks for the answer. I had forgotten that the file IFD.DAT must be obtained by downloading separetely Image for Dos. Anyway, the file IFD.dat that I had was the right one.
These are my observations.
I start the PC with a Boot CD, and I arrive on the letter A:\. I think you can see the type of boot CD I have prepared.
I try to run:
IFD 2.98 GUI :OK
3.06a GUI : OK
3.44 CUI : OK [though F12 (to quit) does not work]
3.43 and 3.44 GUI: failure >PC is blocked (flashing hyphen)
Well, this is not a big deal..!
Paul Brussels Belgium
TeraByte Support(PP)
Posts: 1484
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:51 am

Re: IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

Have you tried using a different video mode?

Does it work if you boot directly to an IFD GUI floppy disk or CD created using MakeDisk?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3044
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by TeraByte Support »

On a CD you may have to not add all the items. See https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=644

That relates to BootIt but if your total for IFD would go over 2.88 then the same would apply.
paul_6
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:06 pm

Re: IFD GUI from a DOS floppy

Post by paul_6 »

Thanks, I'm forgetting that for now. If I attack the 'problem' again I will get back in touch.
Post Reply