How to edit a job?

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

How to edit a job?

Postby bdemchak » Mon Oct 07, 2019 5:35 pm

Hi --

I have a backup job defined and scheduled:

"E:\Sysprog\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\imagew64.exe" /wait /b /uy /um /d:w1 /f:"J:\MThor\Backup-w1-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /v /vb /comp:2

How can I get the IFW v3.32 to load these parameters into the GUI editor so I can tweak them? When I start IFW GUI, I see that the source drive/partitions is not selected, and I have to guess what I selected last time. Given this, I'm also not sure that the rest of the checkboxes reflect what I actually defined/scheduled previously.

Any suggestions? ... or am I missing the point of the GUI?

Thanks.
bdemchak
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:36 pm

Re: How to edit a job?

Postby TeraByte Support » Mon Oct 07, 2019 9:18 pm

Settings, scheduled tasks tab.

On 10/7/2019 4:35 PM, bdemchak wrote:
> Hi --
>
> I have a backup job defined and scheduled:
>
> "E:\Sysprog\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\imagew64.exe" /wait /b /uy /um /d:w1 /f:"J:\MThor\Backup-w1-$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$" /v /vb /comp:2
>
> How can I get the IFW v3.32 to load these parameters into the GUI editor so I can tweak them? When I start IFW GUI, I see that the source drive/partitions is not selected, and I have to guess what I selected last time. Given this, I'm also not sure that the rest of the checkboxes reflect what I actually defined/scheduled previously.
>
> Any suggestions? ... or am I missing the point of the GUI?
>
> Thanks.
>
>

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: How to edit a job?

Postby bdemchak » Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:46 pm

Thank you.

I can certainly use the Scheduled Tasks tab to see what the command line would be. I also see the schedule and various scheduler settings in other tabs.

But that's not what I'm asking.

I want to use the GUI to tweak this task ... so far, it looks like I would need to see what each of the command line parameters are, then set them in the GUI, and *then* tweak them. This seems unreasonably tedious and pretty error prone.

So, is there a way to bring up a scheduled task in the GUI so I can tweak parameters ... like compression, using VSS, retaining failed backups, etc?

... or do I need to look the options up in the PDF manual and then add them manually to the scheduled command line?

Thanks.
bdemchak
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:36 pm

Re: How to edit a job?

Postby Brian K » Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:12 pm

bdemchak wrote:

>
> So, is there a way to bring up a scheduled task in the GUI so I can tweak
> parameters ... like compression, using VSS, retaining failed backups, etc?
>

On the IFW Scheduled Tasks tab there is an Edit button.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1658
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: How to edit a job?

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:43 pm

You can always delete it and create a new one through the wizard.

On 10/8/2019 2:46 PM, bdemchak wrote:
> Thank you.
>
> I can certainly use the Scheduled Tasks tab to see what the command line would be. I also see the schedule and various scheduler settings in other tabs.
>
> But that's not what I'm asking.
>
> I want to use the GUI to tweak this task ... so far, it looks like I would need to see what each of the command line parameters are, then set them in the GUI, and *then* tweak them. This seems unreasonably tedious and pretty error prone.
>
> So, is there a way to bring up a scheduled task in the GUI so I can tweak parameters ... like compression, using VSS, retaining failed backups, etc?
>
> ... or do I need to look the options up in the PDF manual and then add them manually to the scheduled command line?
>
> Thanks.
>
>

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows

cron