Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Next Generation
Locked
ohaya
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:40 pm

Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by ohaya »

Hi,

I have an HP laptop with 2 drive bays, and I ended up with an extra 128GB SSD recently, so I want to put the SSD in the first drive bay and boot Windows 7 off of that.

So, I used BING to copy the Windows partition to the SSD ("Align 2048" was checked in settings) and I thought that if I did a resize to 1MB less and then a slide that was supposed to do the alignment, but, using msinfo32, it's still showing 32256 for the starting partition offset, so it seems like the partition is still not aligned correctly for SSD.

Can anyone tell me if BING can do the alignment for SSD and if so, how?

Thanks,
Jim
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3003
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by TeraByte Support »

You can check via properties and look at the starting lba.

But really, upgrade to BIBM.


"ohaya" wrote in message news:9948@public.bootitng...

Hi,

I have an HP laptop with 2 drive bays, and I ended up with an extra 128GB
SSD recently, so I want to put the SSD in the first drive bay and boot
Windows 7 off of that.

So, I used BING to copy the Windows partition to the SSD ("Align 2048" was
checked in settings) and I thought that if I did a resize to 1MB less and
then a slide that was supposed to do the alignment, but, using msinfo32,
it's still showing 32256 for the starting partition offset, so it seems like
the partition is still not aligned correctly for SSD.

Can anyone tell me if BING can do the alignment for SSD and if so, how?

Thanks,
Jim

ohaya
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by ohaya »

Hi,

Thanks, I will, but can't at this moment.

The properties reports 16731. So should I just slide the partition? How to figure how much to slide it?

Thanks,
Jim
ohaya
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by ohaya »

I was able to resize and slide the partition to the point that properties for the partition now shows 20480, which is obviously divisible by 2048, but when I boot into Windows 7, and check the msinfo32 start of partition offset, it's showing 32256.

Shouldn't the starting partition offset in msinfo32 be divisible by 4096?

Thanks,
Jim
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3003
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by TeraByte Support »

maybe it needs refreshing.


"ohaya" wrote in message news:9951@public.bootitng...

I was able to resize and slide the partition to the point that properties
for the partition now shows 20480, which is obviously divisible by 2048, but
when I boot into Windows 7, and check the msinfo32 start of partition
offset, it's showing 32256.

Shouldn't the starting partition offset in msinfo32 be divisible by 4096?

Thanks,
Jim

Grooby
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:49 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by Grooby »

ohaya wrote:

> I thought that if I did a resize to
> 1MB less and then a slide that was supposed to do the alignment, but, using
> msinfo32, it's still showing 32256 for the starting partition offset, so it
> seems like the partition is still not aligned correctly for SSD.
>
> Can anyone tell me if BING can do the alignment for SSD and if so, how?

I know this is an old thread.

Am not clear from the replies about what is the correct technique to get BING to align a partition correctly on an SSD. Is the approach mentioned by the original poster the correct one?
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3003
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by TeraByte Support »

you'd use slide/resize when the align on 2048 is enabled.

but really, you should upgrade to BIBM.

"Grooby" wrote in message news:11088@public.bootitng...

ohaya wrote:

> I thought that if I did a resize to
> 1MB less and then a slide that was supposed to do the alignment, but,
> using
> msinfo32, it's still showing 32256 for the starting partition offset, so
> it
> seems like the partition is still not aligned correctly for SSD.
>
> Can anyone tell me if BING can do the alignment for SSD and if so, how?

I know this is an old thread.

Am not clear from the replies about what is the correct technique to get
BING to align a partition correctly on an SSD. Is the approach mentioned by
the original poster the correct one?

mjnelson99
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:24 am

Re: Can BING align partition for SSD for existing partition?

Post by mjnelson99 »

BIBM can handle 64 bit systems better than BING.

On 2/15/2016 9:57 AM, TeraByte Support wrote:
> you'd use slide/resize when the align on 2048 is enabled.
>
> but really, you should upgrade to BIBM.
>
> "Grooby" wrote in message news:11088@public.bootitng...
>
> ohaya wrote:
>
>> I thought that if I did a resize to
>> 1MB less and then a slide that was supposed to do the alignment, but,
>> using
>> msinfo32, it's still showing 32256 for the starting partition offset, so
>> it
>> seems like the partition is still not aligned correctly for SSD.
>>
>> Can anyone tell me if BING can do the alignment for SSD and if so, how?
>
> I know this is an old thread.
>
> Am not clear from the replies about what is the correct technique to get
> BING to align a partition correctly on an SSD. Is the approach mentioned by
> the original poster the correct one?
>
>
Locked