Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby TT123 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:18 am

I use my Desktop in my den as a DVR. After installing, Adobe Elements Premiere 10 causes Audio from the Media Center recording to drop out after 30 seconds of play back from my desktop PC thru a D-Link Router to a Sony BDP S570 Blue-Ray Certified DLNA player to a 46" SHARP LCD TV in my livingroom.
I un-install Premiere 10 and all is good. Other videos play just fine. We are talking Windows Recorded TV Show (.wtv). I use my Desktop like a DVR and have a wired network throughout the house. I go to my Tv bring up the Sony player, Select my Media Center Server, Videos, Genre, News and select the latest recorded TV broadcast. I get HD Video and Audio and monitor the display. 30 seconds into the replay no sound. I can fast forward and get sound for a bit after playback resumes then silence
Adobe has no answers but I think I do. My C drive imaged to my D then the option to boot from one or the other. Can I do this or must I do a complete install of Windows 7 to my D and go through the trouble of updates ect.?
Would BootIt Bare Metal solve my problem?
TT
TT123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby TeraByte Support » Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:52 pm

If you wanted to copy over the partition then boot either one, that should
be fine. If you're using a separate boot partition you have to do an extra
step of updating the BCD or remove that boot partition so each is
independently bootable
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=409


"TT123" wrote in message news:1238@public.bootitbm...

I use my Desktop in my den as a DVR. After installing, Adobe Elements
Premiere 10 causes Audio from the Media Center recording to drop out after
30 seconds of play back from my desktop PC thru a D-Link Router to a Sony
BDP S570 Blue-Ray Certified DLNA player to a 46" SHARP LCD TV in my
livingroom.
I un-install Premiere 10 and all is good. Other videos play just fine. We
are talking Windows Recorded TV Show (.wtv). I use my Desktop like a DVR and
have a wired network throughout the house. I go to my Tv bring up the Sony
player, Select my Media Center Server, Videos, Genre, News and select the
latest recorded TV broadcast. I get HD Video and Audio and monitor the
display. 30 seconds into the replay no sound. I can fast forward and get
sound for a bit after playback resumes then silence
Adobe has no answers but I think I do. My C drive imaged to my D then the
option to boot from one or the other. Can I do this or must I do a complete
install of Windows 7 to my D and go through the trouble of updates ect.?
Would BootIt Bare Metal solve my problem?
TT

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2281
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby Bob Coleman » Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:37 pm

TT123 wrote:Adobe has no answers but I think I do. My C drive imaged to my D then the option to boot from one or the other. Can I do this or must I do a complete install of Windows 7 to my D and go through the trouble of updates ect.?
TT


You probably want to insure that neither copy of Windows 7 can see the other when booted and note that when you boot what you currently refer to as D, it would be C.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby now_john » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:35 pm

Bob Coleman wrote:
You probably want to insure that neither copy of Windows 7 can see the other when booted and note that when you boot what you currently refer to as D, it would be C.


Hey Bob,

I didn't know that it might not be a good idea to let a running copy of Windows 7 see a copy that was not running. Can you let me know why?

TIA,

John
now_john
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:15 am

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby TT123 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:14 pm

Bob Coleman wrote:
TT123 wrote:Adobe has no answers but I think I do. My C drive imaged to my D then the option to boot from one or the other. Can I do this or must I do a complete install of Windows 7 to my D and go through the trouble of updates ect.?
TT


You probably want to insure that neither copy of Windows 7 can see the other when booted and note that when you boot what you currently refer to as D, it would be C.


So I unplug the power?
TT123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby Bob Coleman » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:21 pm

now_john wrote:
Bob Coleman wrote:
You probably want to insure that neither copy of Windows 7 can see the other when booted and note that when you boot what you currently refer to as D, it would be C.


Hey Bob,

I didn't know that it might not be a good idea to let a running copy of Windows 7 see a copy that was not running. Can you let me know why?

TIA,

John


Well, maybe I overstated the case. As far as I know there isn't necessarily anything wrong with it if you have a reason to do it. I just figure in most cases it's unnecessary and simpler if the two are kept completely separate which eliminates any risk of one altering the other in some undesirable way.

Also, in this particular case, the original poster seemed to want to duplicate an environment consisting of one Windows 7 but just using a different disk or partition. Making the two invisible to each other would come closer to achieving that goal.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Win 7 on C & D physical drives to solve a problem

Postby Bob Coleman » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:25 pm

TT123 wrote:
Bob Coleman wrote:
TT123 wrote:Adobe has no answers but I think I do. My C drive imaged to my D then the option to boot from one or the other. Can I do this or must I do a complete install of Windows 7 to my D and go through the trouble of updates ect.?
TT


You probably want to insure that neither copy of Windows 7 can see the other when booted and note that when you boot what you currently refer to as D, it would be C.


So I unplug the power?


Unplug the power to what? Certainly not.

In BIBM, you set up boot items for each Windows 7. In each boot item you hide the other Windows 7 (or if not limiting primary partitions, simply don't fill the other Windows 7 partition into the MBR).
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am


Return to BootIt Bare Metal

cron