MBR Details versus GPT Details (BIU)

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal and BootIt UEFI
AGH1965

MBR Details versus GPT Details (BIU)

Post by AGH1965 »

Although I have a lot of experience using BIBM and even BING, I'm preparing myself for using BIU by studying the manual, but I have some questions now.

When I look at BIU's Boot Menu configuration dialog, then I see a clear difference between the MBR Details and the GPT Details. Where the MBR Details part has buttons for adding, removing and changing the order of partitions, the GPT Details part hasn't. Do I understand it correctly that the GPT Details part always shows all partitions and that you can only hide or unhide them? So if I hide a partition in the GPT Details part, then it still remains visible in this part, but the operating system won't see it? What will the operating system see then if I hided a partition in the GPT Details part, unpartitioned space or a partition that is supposed to be ignored? (With BIBM I never hided partitions; I simply didn't put any partitions in the MBR that I didn't want to be seen by the operating system.)
Brian K

Re: MBR Details versus GPT Details (BIU)

Post by Brian K »

AGH1965 wrote:

> (With BIBM I never hided partitions; I simply didn't put any
> partitions in the MBR that I didn't want to be seen by the operating
> system.)

Same here.

> Do I understand it correctly that
> the GPT Details part always shows all partitions and that you can only hide
> or unhide them?

Yes. In Part Work you can Reorder partition slot numbers but you needn't study that until much later when you have installed and removed multiple OS.

> So if I hide a partition in the GPT Details part, then it
> still remains visible in this part, but the operating system won't see it?
> What will the operating system see then if I hided a partition in the GPT