Install BIBM on M.2 NVMe SSD?

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal and BootIt UEFI
AGH1965

Install BIBM on M.2 NVMe SSD?

Post by AGH1965 »

To my complete satisfaction, I have been using BIBM for many years on my current pc. Now I have plans to build a new pc with an ASUS PRIME B360M-A mainboard and a Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 NVMe SSD. Furthermore the pc may also get a regular SATA SSD or HDD.

Does anyone know if it will be possible to install BIBM (and a few boot partitions) on the M.2 NVMe SSD? Will it be possible to configure the M.2 NVMe SSD as EMBR drive? Are there any special measures I have to take?
TeraByte Support

Re: Install BIBM on M.2 NVMe SSD?

Post by TeraByte Support »

All depends on your BIOS, if it's available as a BIOS device and
available as a boot device, you should be good to go. May require a
firmware update. If it only boots in UEFI mode, you'd need to use
BootIt UEFI and install OSes that support booting via UEFI.

On 9/29/2019 9:20 AM, AGH1965 wrote:
> To my complete satisfaction, I have been using BIBM for many years on my current pc. Now I have plans to build a new pc with an ASUS PRIME B360M-A mainboard and a Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 NVMe SSD. Furthermore the pc may also get a regular SATA SSD or HDD.
>
> Does anyone know if it will be possible to install BIBM (and a few boot partitions) on the M.2 NVMe SSD? Will it be possible to configure the M.2 NVMe SSD as EMBR drive? Are there any special measures I have to take?
>
>

Brian K

Post by Brian K »

AGH1965,

I have a Gigabyte B360M motherboard and a Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe SSD. BootIt UEFI works fine.
AGH1965

Post by AGH1965 »

Brian K, It seems logical to me that BootIt UEFI works fine. I asked about BootIt Bare Metal though. Maybe I should switch to BootIt UEFI, but the UEFI stuff scares me a bit. Furthermore I like the EMBR so much, because I can easily prevent OS's from creating additional partitions.