BIU bare metal install to Z390 mobo

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal and BootIt UEFI
Radiogram

BIU bare metal install to Z390 mobo

Post by Radiogram »

I am preparing to bare metal install Win 10 and Ubuntu to a new PC. From these OSes I also intend to run VMs.
Mobo has Intel Z390 chipset. Boot drive will be a Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 NVMe SSD, 500GB.

The machine will use UEFI booting from the M.2 NVMe drive and GPT partitioning for the boot drive and the main storage HDD.
HDDs with MBR/EMBR partitioning will be carried over from an old Pentium 4 box that will be retired.

I have some experience as a home user multi-booting with BootIt NG. BootIt BM seems to work in pretty much the same manner, and changing to it recently proceeded without difficulty. That is not to say I have mastered BIBM, but I can use it.

With UEFI booting and GPT partitions I’ve had to come to grips with new concepts. I’ve tried to get a handle on the use of BootIt UEFI by reading its manual. I still have some queries and I’m hoping I can get advice and guidance here that will help me get the system up and running without any major drama. Assistance given will be much appreciated.

1. Installing BIU
Booting the bare metal system to BIU from a USB flash drive, will I be able to create partitions and then install BIU to an EFI partition without having drivers for the SSD present on the bare system?

2. EFI system partition
The BIU manual recommends the EFI system partition has a minimum size of 400MB, larger if many OSes will be installed. Would 1GB provide enough capacity to install BIU and to fit more EFI boot files for future multi-booting expansion?