Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/repair?

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal and BootIt UEFI

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby Brian K » Wed May 01, 2019 2:52 pm

I think you need to uninstall BIBM before you can install BIU.

To uninstall, click Utilities, Uninstall, Remove BootIt Bare Metal. You can always reinstall BIBM later if you want to use that disk without the SSD. But you should be able to get BIU to boot the OS on the HD, with a little conversion work.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby dnlathrop » Wed May 01, 2019 3:09 pm

Brian K wrote:
> I think you need to uninstall BIBM before you can install BIU.
>
> To uninstall, click Utilities, Uninstall, Remove BootIt Bare Metal. You can
> always reinstall BIBM later if you want to use that disk without the SSD.
> But you should be able to get BIU to boot the OS on the HD, with a little
> conversion work.

Thanks for describing how to uninstall. I edited my previous post, probably after you read it, wondering in what state the HDD is left when BIBM is uninstalled. Will the last booted OS be bootable?

Uninstall, reinstall is easy enough to do but a re-install won't automatically configure the boot menus they way I have them set up now ... unless there is a way to preserve those configurations. is that possible?

EDIT: I just remembered I have more than four primaries on the HDD. If an uninstall is required, this is going to be very messy.

Please reply TB U support. Is there a way to do a BIU install without removing BIBM?
dnlathrop
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed May 01, 2019 4:02 pm

As far as I know, there shouldn't be an issue with BIBM being installed already. One of my systems is configured that way -- has both BIU and BIBM on it (separate drives, of course) and booting to BIBM is via BIOS boot menu (UEFI/BIU is default). I haven't had any issues updating either (BIBM has to be done by manually selecting the partition).

Possibly another option, if the BIOS allows it, would be to disable the other drive in the BIOS. Then enable it afterwards. This doesn't require physically disconnecting anything.

I'll run a test with installing BIU with BIBM already installed and see if it shows anything.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed May 01, 2019 4:26 pm

I didn't see any issues. BIU install normally with BIBM on another drive already.

Can you attach a photo of the screen you're getting when you boot the BIU media?

To check the EFI System partition to see if it has BootIt files on it, go into Partition Work, select the EFI System partition, then click the Edit File button. Select the EFI folder and check its contents. Is there a BootIt folder? If so, what's in it?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed May 01, 2019 4:31 pm

if there are any items from a prior install of BIU the message changes to
reinstall / reactivate. Choose reactivate which is like install.


"dnlathrop" wrote in message news:16966@public.bootitbm...

Please reply TB U support. Is there a way to do a BIU install without
removing BIBM?

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby dnlathrop » Wed May 01, 2019 5:33 pm

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> I didn't see any issues. BIU install normally with BIBM on another drive
> already.
>
> Can you attach a photo of the screen you're getting when you boot the BIU
> media?
>
> To check the EFI System partition to see if it has BootIt files on it, go
> into Partition Work, select the EFI System partition, then click the Edit
> File button. Select the EFI folder and check its contents. Is there a
> BootIt folder? If so, what's in it?

I have attached two photos; the BIU install boot: [attachment=1]IMG_1400-1.JPG[/attachment]

The EFI partiton has two folders: ubuntu and BOOT. The second photo shows what is in the BOOT folder. [attachment=0]IMG_1401-1.JPG[/attachment]

I looked at the creation dates of those two folders. The dates for both precede my first attempt to install BIU and seem to be related to my installation and upgrade activities with Linux.

Just in case this is important, the GRUB loader gives me two options when it loads: either boot to the newly installed Linux system on the SSD, or boot to the older Linux system on the HDD, but BIBM does not appear if I boot that system. I do not intend to boot the older Linux system in this configuration.
Attachments
IMG_1401-1.JPG
EFI partition; contents of BOOT directory
IMG_1401-1.JPG (129.48 KiB) Viewed 161 times
IMG_1400-1.JPG
BIU install
IMG_1400-1.JPG (212.78 KiB) Viewed 161 times
dnlathrop
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby dnlathrop » Fri May 03, 2019 5:49 pm

A question to TBU support ...

Does my situation present a problem that you are thinking about and will get back to me when you have further thoughts?

If not, could you let me know because I have been holding off doing anything more until I hear from you.
dnlathrop
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Fri May 03, 2019 10:15 pm

When you created the BIU boot media did you select the "Partition - GPT UEFI System Partition" USB Layout type? If so, the simplest solution is to recreate the media and select the normal "Partition - MBR FAT/FAT32 Partition" option (it will still boot in UEFI mode).
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Can I force a new BIU install rather than reactivate/rep

Postby dnlathrop » Sun May 05, 2019 10:44 pm

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> When you created the BIU boot media did you select the "Partition -
> GPT UEFI System Partition" USB Layout type? If so, the simplest
> solution is to recreate the media and select the normal "Partition -
> MBR FAT/FAT32 Partition" option (it will still boot in UEFI mode).


Thank you for the reply. That change allowed me to successfully install BIU on the SSD without having to remove BIBM on the HDD.

I am curious why this change made a difference but obviously it's not critical to me being able to use the product.
dnlathrop
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:21 pm

Previous

Return to BootIt Collection