adding an SSD drive to existing system.

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal and BootIt UEFI
ukracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by ukracer »

Brian K wrote:
> In Partition Work, what partitions are present on the SSD?

Ok rebooted now and written it down.

BUS Bios

Drives 0 - Bios HD (111.79GiB)

Entries are

SSD Boot Partition 47 MiB Bootit EMBRM

Win 7 Ultimate Partition 114424 MiB HPFS/NTFS

Thanks again.
ukracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by ukracer »

ukracer wrote:
> Brian K wrote:
> > In Partition Work, what partitions are present on the SSD?
>
> Ok rebooted now and written it down.
>
> BUS Bios
>
> Drives 0 - Bios HD (111.79GiB)
>
> Entries are
>
> SSD Boot Partition 47 MiB Bootit EMBRM
>
> Win 7 Ultimate Partition 114424 MiB HPFS/NTFS
>
> Thanks again.


Any one got any more info on what I do next please??
Brian K
Posts: 1861
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by Brian K »

ukracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by ukracer »

Brian K wrote:
> Have you tried this?
>
> http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=411


I have read it but dont understand it. :(

I am especially confused about the refference to SWAP previously in this thread.


Regards Andy T
Bob Coleman
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:58 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by Bob Coleman »

I'll admit that I may not understand this perfectly or completely, but since it's Sunday and no better response may be forthcoming ...

I think it's generally true that for boot items for a Windows on other than HD 0, you enable SWAP to make Windows think it's booting from HD 0.
TeraByte Support
Posts: 3002
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 10:37 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by TeraByte Support »

bootmgr missing means that wasn't the boot partition - it probably ended up
installing the boot files in another partition on another drive it thought
was HD0. That article allows you to fix it so that partition itself is
bootable. To make it easier on you, you may want to just disconnect you
other drives, run the items from that article, once booting directly to
windows, you can attach the other drives. For any boot item you setup to
boot a partition that is not on HD0 (from BIOS/BIBM view) enable the "swap"
option. It used to be you didn't need to do that for linux partitions, but
even the newer grub versions require that.


"ukracer" wrote in message news:8162@public.bootitbm...

Brian K wrote:
> Have you tried this?
>
>

[
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=411
](http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=411)

I have read it but dont understand it.

![:(]({SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_sad.gif)

I am especially confused about the refference to SWAP previously in this
thread.


Regards Andy T

ukracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by ukracer »

TeraByte Support wrote:
> bootmgr missing means that wasn't the boot partition - it probably ended up
>
> installing the boot files in another partition on another drive it thought
>
> was HD0. That article allows you to fix it so that partition itself is
> bootable. To make it easier on you, you may want to just disconnect you
> other drives, run the items from that article, once booting directly to
> windows, you can attach the other drives. For any boot item you setup to
> boot a partition that is not on HD0 (from BIOS/BIBM view) enable the "swap"
>
> option. It used to be you didn't need to do that for linux partitions, but
>
> even the newer grub versions require that.

> Regards Andy T

Not sure if I have explained myself accurately.. ;)

I had a working system with 3 drives installed one of which was a working windows 7 system.

I then disconnected all those drives.

At that stage I installed a Fresh install of windows 7 to a "NEW" clean SSD drive. I used BIBM to create a small partition on that SSD drive and a larger windows partition. ALL of that went well. SO I have a working windows system on an SSD drive and then connected the other 3 drives back up. The SSD drive still boots fine but I need to boot from the preexisting windos system so I can get access to missing passwords and data etc.

So I boot from BIBM to see if I can get the pre existing windows system to boot. I manage to add extra menu items. I make sure SWAP is ticked but I can not get the existing windows system to boot.

The documents refferenced seem to cover most instances but not the one I have.

For example I am not sure which drive is "the boot drive" when I try to run the pre existing windows system?

I purchased BIBM as I was told it was "the best" but it seems so complicated. I have used other partition managers before that would identify any existing windows partitions but I am guessing BIBM does not do this?

Sorry to seem dim ....

Regards Andy T
TeraByte Support(PP)
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:51 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

What is the partition configuration on the original Windows drive?

For BIBM, the booting drive would be the drive that contains the Windows boot partition being booted. For example, when the Windows installation on HD1 is being setup, the booting drive would normally be HD1 (the boot partition for that Windows normally being either the Windows partition or the System Reserved partition on HD1).

You would edit the boot menu item for that Windows and make sure the correct partitions are loaded into the MBR (if using EMBR), that you have "Swap" enabled, and you have the boot drive & partition set (HD: 1, Boot: Windows/SR partition). Keep in mind that any HD# references in BIBM should be what BIBM sees for the drives -- driver order displayed in Windows may be different (this is normal).

If your original drive was the old boot drive you should still be able to boot it by selecting it in the BIOS boot menu. Does this work to boot it or do you get the same boot error?

What is the exact boot error message you're getting?

BIBM will only automatically create menu entries for Windows installations found when BIBM is installed. Otherwise, they need to be created manually.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
ukracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by ukracer »

[attachment=0]drive data.PNG[/attachment]TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> What is the partition configuration on the original Windows drive?
>
See attachment. [attachment=0]drive data.PNG[/attachment]



> For BIBM, the booting drive would be the drive that contains the Windows
> boot partition being booted. For example, when the Windows installation on
> HD1 is being setup, the booting drive would normally be HD1 (the boot
> partition for that Windows normally being either the Windows partition or
> the System Reserved partition on HD1).

This is where I am confused. I set up the SSD on its own with no other drives connected I thought it was on HD0. It seems to be on HD1
>
> You would edit the boot menu item for that Windows and make sure the
> correct partitions are loaded into the MBR (if using EMBR), that you have
> "Swap" enabled, and you have the boot drive & partition set
> (HD: 1, Boot: Windows/SR partition). Keep in mind that any HD# references
> in BIBM should be what BIBM sees for the drives -- driver order displayed
> in Windows may be different (this is normal).


I need to sit down when its quiet and digest that ;)
>
> If your original drive was the old boot drive you should still be able to
> boot it by selecting it in the BIOS boot menu. Does this work to boot it or
> do you get the same boot error?

I can boot to the SSD which seems to be on HD1 but not the preexisting windows (installed on a previous drive BEFORE BIBM was installed.)
>
> What is the exact boot error message you're getting?

It says bootmgr missing.
>
> BIBM will only automatically create menu entries for Windows installations
> found when BIBM is installed. Otherwise, they need to be created manually.

You mean if BIBM is installed and you then set up windows it will automatically see that INSTALL ? Any on old drives need to be added manually?


REally appreciate your time in assisting me.


Regards Andy T
Attachments
drive data.PNG
drive data.PNG (85.24 KiB) Viewed 7469 times
Brian K
Posts: 1861
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:11 am
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Post by Brian K »

Andy,

In the BIBM "Edit Menu Item" window....

What do you have in the Boot field? What is the HD number above the Boot field?

What do you have in MBR Details on the right of the "Edit Menu Item" window? Please list partitions for each HD.
Post Reply