New install

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

New install

Postby raydav » Fri Jan 24, 2014 7:43 pm

ACER Aspire V5-551 shipped with W8

Using DFSee I cleaned the front of the HDD, created a 2G FAT16 primary, and several logicals, all formatted FAT32 as place holders.

Installed Acronis OSS V5 on the first partition - my standard Boot Manager for several years.
Installed W8 on partition 6, worked OK.
Installed W7 on partition 5, worked OK, it created a boot manager that had W7 and W8.
Installed FreeDOS on the first partition.
Acronis OSS tried to work but failed to load a menu.
Installed Boltit Bare Metal(BBM). It picked up W7 and booted it OK.
Installed FreeDOS again to see if it would get added to boot menu; no.
Chose direct boot of the First partition, FreeDOS booted.
After that the only thing that booted, regardless of what I tried, was FreeDOS.
Reinstalled BBM, no change; DOS only.

Ideas?

Ray
raydav
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New install

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:56 am

On Fri, 24 Jan 2014 18:43:13 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
raydav disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>Ideas?

I would use one tool instead of several. BIBM is all you need.
--

Cheers,

DrT

** Stress - the condition brought about by having to
** resist the temptation to beat the living daylights
** out of someone who richly deserves it.
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: New install

Postby raydav » Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:33 pm

After it seemed that Acronis did not like this machine I went looking for an alternative. By that time it was partitioned and had a couple OSs on it. So you think I should wipe the HDD and start over?

Does BIBM have a function for wiping just enough of the front that it looks like a fresh drive?

To build a fresh drive it would need to be run external. At what point should it get installed on the drive?

TY
Ray
raydav
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New install

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:37 am

Use the normal boot menu, to add a new item, use "boot edit" from the
desktop. It will only automatically create boot items when a menu doesn't
already exist.


"raydav" wrote in message news:7416@public.bootitbm...

ACER Aspire V5-551 shipped with W8

Using DFSee I cleaned the front of the HDD, created a 2G FAT16 primary, and
several logicals, all formatted FAT32 as place holders.

Installed Acronis OSS V5 on the first partition - my standard Boot Manager
for several years.
Installed W8 on partition 6, worked OK.
Installed W7 on partition 5, worked OK, it created a boot manager that had
W7 and W8.
Installed FreeDOS on the first partition.
Acronis OSS tried to work but failed to load a menu.
Installed Boltit Bare Metal(BBM). It picked up W7 and booted it OK.
Installed FreeDOS again to see if it would get added to boot menu; no.
Chose direct boot of the First partition, FreeDOS booted.
After that the only thing that booted, regardless of what I tried, was
FreeDOS.
Reinstalled BBM, no change; DOS only.

Ideas?

Ray

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to BootIt Bare Metal