IFD fails to write image to disk after backup

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.
Specular

IFD fails to write image to disk after backup

Post by Specular »

I've been using Image for DOS for about two years off-and-on, using the a live CD to backup my laptop's hard drive to an external drive. I currently have 177GB free space on the external, and the laptop's drive is 160GB, with maybe 75% actual used data. I always use Verify Byte-for-byte, and the uncompressed option.

However the past couple attempts at backing up an image have failed to write the image to the external drive, after I've checked the drive in Windows Explorer.

The most recent attempt was about an hour ago, and when I last checked the screen during the backup it showed a completion time of 30 minutes. After coming back later it showed the main IFD menu screen, so I assumed it had completed. However it hadn't, apparently, as I checked the external drive and no new image was there.

Is there something wrong, or does IFD now add /that/ much overhead to images than it was before?
TeraByte Support(PP)

Re: IFD fails to write image to disk after backup

Post by TeraByte Support(PP) »

Have you checked the file system on the external drive for any errors (e.g. run chkdsk /f on it)?

Is this a newer laptop with Windows 8 on it? If so, you can have that type of problem if "Fast startup" is enabled or any hard drive accelerators are used (see http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=575).
Specular

Post by Specular »

Thanks for the reply. I'm running XP.

I've tried chkdsk on different drive in the past but it froze at one point while running, and I've heard it can occasionally cause data corruption in some cases - would it still be worth trying? Apologies for the rather basic question, but I don't currently have a backup of the external backup so just wanted to be sure.
TeraByte Support(PP)