Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby leechap » Sat Feb 28, 2015 3:10 pm

I have a pre-UEFI ASUS motherboard. I am running BBM and Windows 7 32 bit from a SSD. I am trying to swap out a couple of failing Seagate 2TB storage drives for one WD 4TB drive. Is there a way for BBM to see this entire drive so I can create two 2TB partitions? It currently only sees 2TB of the drive.
Lee
leechap
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby Brian K » Sat Feb 28, 2015 5:21 pm

Lee,

In BIBM, Change Disk Type to GPT.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby leechap » Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:31 pm

Hi Brian
The disk was already a GPT type by default. Since I posted the question I installed an x64 instance of Windows 7 to see if I could get diskmgmt.msc to see the whole drive there but no joy. It seems my motherboard (P7H55D-M_PRO) is too old. I figured I couldn't boot the drive but I hoped I could at least create two partitions, but no way. The other bad news is that the process of installing Win7 x64 on another drive somehow caused my main OS partition on an SSD to be wiped out. Undelete in BBM resulted only in a weird unbootable Linux partition being found. I think I may be stuck with <2TB drives until I upgrade :cry: .
Lee
leechap
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby leechap » Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:53 pm

Now I'm wondering if I update my motherboard to a UEFI capable board will BBM (and Windows 7) be able to see a 4TB hard drive since I'll be in Legacy Mode. So many questions, so few answers.. ;)
leechap
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby Brian K » Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:12 pm

Lee,

See the "Important Note for Systems using Drives Larger than 2.2TB" in ...

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/ ... torial.htm

You probably don't have the latest Intel drivers. Not having them only allows you to use around 1.7 TB out of 4 TB.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/search ... %AE+RST%29

Try 13.2.4.1000
(Latest)
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby leechap » Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:48 pm

Once I have those files how do I perform the update?
leechap
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby Brian K » Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:58 pm

Lee,

I'm probably on the wrong track as that wouldn't explain your BIBM issue.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby leechap » Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:57 am

I did manage to install the latest Intel update but it made no difference. Thanks for trying.
leechap
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby mjnelson99 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:09 am

Can you just boot a cd/dvd and use BIBM to partition?
Mary

On 2/28/2015 11:31 PM, leechap wrote:
> Hi Brian
> The disk was already a GPT type by default. Since I posted the question

I installed an x64 instance of Windows 7 to see if I could get diskmgmt.msc

to see the whole drive there but no joy. It seems my motherboard
(P7H55D-M_PRO)

is too old. I figured I couldn't boot the drive but I hoped I could at
least create

two partitions, but no way. The other bad news is that the process of
installing Win7 x64 on another drive somehow caused my main OS partition
on an SSD to be wiped out. Undelete in BBM resulted only in a weird
unbootable Linux partition being found. I think I may be stuck with <2TB
drives until I upgrade
>
> ![:cry:]({SMILIES_PATH}/icon_cry.gif)
>
> .
> Lee
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Can BBM see/partition a 4TB HD without UEFI?

Postby DrTeeth » Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:20 am

On Sat, 28 Feb 2015 14:10:45 PST, just as I was about to take a herb,
leechap disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>I have a pre-UEFI ASUS motherboard. I am running BBM and Windows 7 32 bit from a SSD. I am trying to swap out a couple of failing Seagate 2TB storage drives for one WD 4TB drive. Is there a way for BBM to see this entire drive so I can create two 2TB partitions? It currently only sees 2TB of the drive.
>Lee

Try using as Linux Live distro and see if that can see the whole drive
and try to partition it that way.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** You've never known happiness until you're married;
** but by then it is too late.
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Next

Return to BootIt Bare Metal

cron