Boot Menu Question

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Boot Menu Question

Postby katiedawg » Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:11 am

OK, I know I've set something up incorrectly, but what?

I have two identical ThinkPads and the BIBM boot menu performs exactly as expected on one of them, but not on the other one. As best I can tell, all settings are identical.

On the one that's behaving, I can boot and the BIBM boot menu comes right up with the two Windows 7 partitions showing up, and both will launch just fine. On the one that's not behaving, BIBM takes me to the "Work with Partitions" window instead of the boot menu. I can close the "Work with Partitions" window without making any changes, and it goes to the BIBM GUI. I click on "Resume" and the regular boot menu shows up, just like on the laptop where BIBM is behaving properly. Both partitions will boot just fine from the boot menu once I cancel out of "Work with Partitions" and click on "Resume."

I've gone through the BIBM settings on the two laptops, checking them carefully side by side, but I can't find what I'm failing to check/uncheck in the options.

Any ideas? Sorry to seem so dim!
katiedawg
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Boot Menu Question

Postby DrTeeth » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:54 pm

On Tue, 5 Aug 2014 10:11:24 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
katiedawg disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>Any ideas? Sorry to seem so dim!
Did you use the same disk/USB drive to install BIBM on both PCs? It
sounds like you did not and selected different screens to show when
BIBM first loads. See 'boot options' on page 15 of the manual.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** You've never known happiness until you're married;
** but by then it is too late.
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Boot Menu Question

Postby katiedawg » Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:45 pm

Very interesting, and that certainly would explain this behavior. I used the same CD for both installations, but I could have missed changing that setting on page 15 on the problem system. Is there a way to change it after the fact, or do I have to re-do the installation?

Thanks, pal!
katiedawg
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Boot Menu Question

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Aug 05, 2014 4:42 pm

edit the bootitbm.ini file (via edit file on desktop) and remove the
startat= line


"katiedawg" wrote in message news:8504@public.bootitbm...

Very interesting, and that certainly would explain this behavior. I used
the same CD for both installations, but I could have missed changing that
setting on page 15 on the problem system. Is there a way to change it after
the fact, or do I have to re-do the installation?

Thanks, pal!

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2325
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to BootIt Bare Metal

cron