adding an SSD drive to existing system.

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:46 am

I am trying to add an SSD drive to existing system using BootIt Bare Metal.

I am adding a samsung 840 120 gig drive and installing a fresh install of windos 7 64 bit. BUT I need the ability to keep booting into my existing windows 7 system to get passwords, lists , licence codes etc saved in that OS.

Any suggestions of the best way of doing it. I purchased BootIt Bare Metal. plus the bonus programs so I am all set to go with SSD connected and formatted.

I have done lots of research and reading through the FAQ and Forum and watched the WMV's but none show the exact process I am trying to achieve.

Its probably too simple but I cant afford to brick my system as I left my back ups at home :(

Regards Andy T
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:51 am

Just been doing some more reading and found this http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=339 BUT it does not quite give me what I need to know.

The article is almost perfect except for the fact it seems to indicate that I would still be using the conventional 1TB hard disc located at HD0 as the boot partition and install Bootit Bare metal to THAT location???

What I really want to do is install the new SSD as the Boot PARTION AND BOOT DRIVE. Together with a new fresh install on THAT DRIVE. I then need to have Bootit Bare Metal locate any other Windows 7 installations on my other 3 drives .

Hope this clarifies things and some one can suggest the quickest and safest way to do carry this out.
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:34 am

You could connect just the SSD (set as the boot drive), install BIBM, install Windows 7. Once that's working, reconnect the 1TB drive and set up the boot item for it. This way nothing on the 1TB drive is at risk while installing.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:47 am

When you setup the boot item for booting windows that is not on HD0 (from
the perspective of BIBM/BIOS) then ensure the "swap" option is checked.

"TeraByte Support (PP)" wrote in message news:8141@public.bootitbm...

You could connect just the SSD (set as the boot drive), install BIBM,
install Windows 7. Once that's working, reconnect the 1TB drive and set up
the boot item for it. This way nothing on the 1TB drive is at risk while
installing.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:15 am

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> You could connect just the SSD (set as the boot drive), install BIBM,
> install Windows 7. Once that's working, reconnect the 1TB drive and set up
> the boot item for it. This way nothing on the 1TB drive is at risk while
> installing.

I was not sure I could do that so I will take your advice. ;)
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:16 am

TeraByte Support wrote:
> When you setup the boot item for booting windows that is not on HD0 (from
> the perspective of BIBM/BIOS) then ensure the "swap" option is checked.

I understand the first part of that but not sure I fully understand the second. That said I have seen reference to swap on a video so will watch that again ;) cheers
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:59 am

It's an option in the Boot Details section of the menu item settings in BIBM. For your boot item configured for Windows on the 1TB drive you'd want to have it enabled since the SSD (Disk 0) is the default BIOS booting drive.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 pm

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:
> It's an option in the Boot Details section of the menu item settings in
> BIBM. For your boot item configured for Windows on the 1TB drive you'd want
> to have it enabled since the SSD (Disk 0) is the default BIOS booting
> drive.

Well...........I thought I understood. I have now got an SSD drive with a fresh win 7 on it. I also have 4 other drives hooked up all of which seem to be way faster than before.

ANywayI found a new item on Bootit Bare Metal desktop which let me edit the menu. But wow...its complicated. I thought I had sorted it by adding two menu items BUT whilst it lets me boot with the SSD drive the mouse does not work (so i am slow navigating) but most important is says bootmgr missing Or similar. lol

I need to write down the exact message and come back and edit it! lol

Edit yes it was bootmgr....
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby Brian K » Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:11 pm

In Partition Work, what partitions are present on the SSD?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: adding an SSD drive to existing system.

Postby ukracer » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:22 am

[attachment=0]drive.PNG[/attachment]Brian K wrote:
> In Partition Work, what partitions are present on the SSD?

Will reboot later but this is what it says in windows. I thought the SSD was actually HD0 but it shows in windows as HD1.
Attachments
drive.PNG
drive.PNG (7.88 KiB) Viewed 5934 times
ukracer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:34 am

Next

Return to BootIt Bare Metal