Win8 Upgrade

User discussion forum for items related to technology in general.

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby Ed Smith » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:54 pm



"DrTeeth" wrote in message news:3610@public.tech.misc...

On Thu, 25 Oct 2012 10:28:02 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
"Ed."

disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>After reading it, I looked too and found this blog that explains also just
>what you were saying.

I am just wondering if using the upgrade assistant will tie a copy of
win 8 to a given PC like an OEM licence. I upgrade my PC every 2-3
years and would not be happy if I could not reinstall like a retail
copy (upgrade or not).

*******************************************************

I am wondering the same thing and that's why I am trying to find out about
doing a clean install.
I would hate to get the upgrade and find out down the road I can't use it
for a clean install.
Last night I ran the upgrade assistant. It searched my computer and showed
all compatible devices and programs.
It showed one program not compatible.

After it completed, I click next and select any of the three options on
keeping files, not keeping them or nothing which I guess nothing would be
the iso file that the blog I read says you can do a clean install with as
also what you said. Then you click next and wants your name, etc. and
billing info and of course for the time being I just click cancel.

I also saw somewhere on an MS site about doing a clean install. In the MS
forums today folks that have downloaded the upgrade said they were on a
32-bit OS PC and wanted to go to a 64-bit OS but the download gave them
32-bit. The upgrade assistant gives what it sees you currently have. Those
folks said they just called and cancelled it and they told them it would
take 14 days to get their money back. They then installed 64-bit win7 and
ran the upgrade assistant and they received the 64-bit.

But if what if you don't have a current OS installed ? If maybe like you
built a new computer. You can't run the upgrade assistant so you would have
to get the DVD for 30 bucks more.
Someone said the the upgrade iso was only 2 something GB and that if you got
the DVD you have both the 32 and 64 on it to choose from. I don't know yet
and guess why I will wait awhile to see what is going on.

Also last night on the ms site
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).

Ed Smith
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:14 am

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby mjnelson99 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:11 pm

If Win 8 DVDs are anything like Win 7, 64 bit & 32 bit will
come on separate DVDs. Not sure it is of a size where MS
could put them on only one.

Maybe the day will come where there are Win 8 iso files on
the net like there are for Win 7.
Mary

On 10/26/2012 3:54 PM, Ed. wrote:
> "DrTeeth" wrote in message news:3610@public.tech.misc...
>
> On Thu, 25 Oct 2012 10:28:02 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
> "Ed."
>
> disturbed my reverie and wrote:
>
>> After reading it, I looked too and found this blog that explains also just
>> what you were saying.
>
> I am just wondering if using the upgrade assistant will tie a copy of
> win 8 to a given PC like an OEM licence. I upgrade my PC every 2-3
> years and would not be happy if I could not reinstall like a retail
> copy (upgrade or not).
>
> *******************************************************
>
> I am wondering the same thing and that's why I am trying to find out about
> doing a clean install.
> I would hate to get the upgrade and find out down the road I can't use it
> for a clean install.
> Last night I ran the upgrade assistant. It searched my computer and showed
> all compatible devices and programs.
> It showed one program not compatible.
>
> After it completed, I click next and select any of the three options on
> keeping files, not keeping them or nothing which I guess nothing would be
> the iso file that the blog I read says you can do a clean install with as
> also what you said. Then you click next and wants your name, etc. and
> billing info and of course for the time being I just click cancel.
>
> I also saw somewhere on an MS site about doing a clean install. In the MS
> forums today folks that have downloaded the upgrade said they were on a
> 32-bit OS PC and wanted to go to a 64-bit OS but the download gave them
> 32-bit. The upgrade assistant gives what it sees you currently have. Those
> folks said they just called and cancelled it and they told them it would
> take 14 days to get their money back. They then installed 64-bit win7 and
> ran the upgrade assistant and they received the 64-bit.
>
> But if what if you don't have a current OS installed ? If maybe like you
> built a new computer. You can't run the upgrade assistant so you would have
> to get the DVD for 30 bucks more.
> Someone said the the upgrade iso was only 2 something GB and that if you got
> the DVD you have both the 32 and 64 on it to choose from. I don't know yet
> and guess why I will wait awhile to see what is going on.
>
> Also last night on the ms site
> --
>
> Cheers
>
> DrT
> ______________________________
> We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
> our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
> to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby TeraByte Support » Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:47 pm

If there any python users out there it's open source at
https://github.com/TBOpen


"DrTeeth" wrote in message news:3588@public.tech.misc...

TAC109 wrote:
> I see Dr Teeth's message on the web interface.
>
> However, there is a long standing bug in the Terabyte NNTP software
> such that retrieving messages that have 'special' characters in them
> anywhere, cause it to crash.
>
> Dr Teeth used the pound symbol. I've seen this with accented
> characters, the 'TM' symbol, and even the reverse single quote sign
> (on the tilde key).
>
> On my system (I use Forte Agent), having retrieved the header, Agent
> keeps trying to retrieve the body without success until I abandon the
> task.

That is what I see too.

So the GBP sign is illegal - what a bug and a half. It would be nice if a
list could be published - this a real PITA.

DrT

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:37 am

I have downloaded a copy for my laptop. I am trying to get
clarification as to whether the download version comes with an OEM
licence (tied to hardware) or a retail licence (can be installed on
new hardware - needed for desktop as due for m/b+CPU upgrade in a year
or so).

A serial number is supplied for the download version - I read
somewhere that they did not require a serial number.

Have not installed it yet, the H/D is prepped and ready to go.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:42 am

On Fri, 26 Oct 2012 19:11:48 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
mjnelson99 disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>Maybe the day will come where there are Win 8 iso files on
>the net like there are for Win 7.

They are there already ;-).
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby mjnelson99 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:44 pm

I did not use the OEM serial # when I used the iso file.

I used Win 7 to upgrade Win 7. Clean install w/o putting in
install code. Then do an Upgrade install putting in the code.

Not sure if the OEM serial # will work. Give it a try and
let us know, please.

You don't have much to lose by testing it.

The iso files do require a serial number at some point very
soon after install.
Mary

On 10/27/2012 5:37 AM, DrTeeth wrote:
> I have downloaded a copy for my laptop. I am trying to get
> clarification as to whether the download version comes with an OEM
> licence (tied to hardware) or a retail licence (can be installed on
> new hardware - needed for desktop as due for m/b+CPU upgrade in a year
> or so).
>
> A serial number is supplied for the download version - I read
> somewhere that they did not require a serial number.
>
> Have not installed it yet, the H/D is prepped and ready to go.
> --
>
> Cheers
>
> DrT
> ______________________________
> We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
> our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
> to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby mjnelson99 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:45 pm

What version of Win 8 is it, though?

May not be RTM or newer.
Mary

On 10/27/2012 5:42 AM, DrTeeth wrote:
> On Fri, 26 Oct 2012 19:11:48 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
> mjnelson99
>
> disturbed my reverie and wrote:
>
>> Maybe the day will come where there are Win 8 iso files on
>> the net like there are for Win 7.
>
> They are there already ;-).
> --
>
> Cheers
>
> DrT
> ______________________________
> We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
> our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
> to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:18 pm

Install went okay.

Having an issue with windows updates not being applied due to an error
- on a vanilla install FFS. Have been at this for over an hour trying
to fix it. Takes 2-3 reboots to revert the changes, sigh.

Cannot change the wallpaper at all. Something as simple as that cannot
be user error. I go through the correct motions, but the bugger will
just not change.

Not got much installed on it yet - still trying to bend it to my will.
For example, I always reduce border padding from the default 4 to my
preferred 1, the option seems to have been removed along with all the
desktop config options...like icon spacing for e.g.

--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:24 pm

On Sat, 27 Oct 2012 13:45:44 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
mjnelson99 disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>What version of Win 8 is it, though?
>
>May not be RTM or newer.

I have d/l the upgrade from MSoft - RTM - Win 8 Pro. Used the upgrade
wizard to create an ISO. It is a VERY frustrating OS as many of the
options that I had access to in win 7 are no longer there - sooo much
(too much?) has been changed.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose whether or not
to dance in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Win8 Upgrade

Postby Brian K » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:48 pm

DrT,

I assume you did a Custom clean install into a partition using the BIBM method?

How does the upgrade disk confirm you already have a genuine Windows OS? Does it "see" the partition?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Technology

cron