BootNow - MDT not Found!

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Next Generation

BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby yoyo » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:28 am

Hi All,

I use BootNow for quit a long time now.
I have had times that I had to use the BOOTNOW.INI with the [OPTIONS] hd=0-9 setting.

A few month ago I had to reorder my HD's and place Bootit NG on an other HD. The first HD is now a new drive.
And now I can't get BootNow to work anymore. I tried all BOOTNOW.INI hd numbers, but nothing works.
I still get the "MDT not Found!" error.

Any idea's..?
yoyo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:06 am

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:12 pm

Are you using the current version of BootNow (1.30)?

What are the current contents of the BOOTNOW.INI file and is it located in the C:\Windows folder?

What drive numbers is Disk Management showing?

Does BING come up normally when you boot the new drive?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:06 pm

If using W7 or Vista, ensure you set your shortcut to run as administrator.

"yoyo" wrote in message news:282@public.bootitng...

Hi All,

I use BootNow for quit a long time now.
I have had times that I had to use the BOOTNOW.INI with the [OPTIONS] hd=0-9
setting.

A few month ago I had to reorder my HD's and place Bootit NG on an other HD.
The first HD is now a new drive.
And now I can't get BootNow to work anymore. I tried all BOOTNOW.INI hd
numbers, but nothing works.
I still get the "MDT not Found!" error.

Any idea's..?

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby yoyo » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:25 am

TeraByte Support(PP) wrote:What are the current contents of the BOOTNOW.INI file and is it located in the C:\Windows folder?
Does BING come up normally when you boot the new drive?


Oeps,
Found it.
Was editing the INI file that I kept in the C:\Program Files\BootNow directory. :D
I thought this was the right INI, because the shortcut starts in this directory also. :oops:
And usually INI's are close to there EXE's. ;)

Now I deleted the INI in C:\Program Files\BootNow and placed a shortcut to the one in C:\Windows
Everything works fine now. 8-)
Thx..!

PS
BING is much slower since it is on the new drive. (WD Green 1TB vs WD Raptor RAIDset in my old setup)
yoyo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:06 am

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby TeraByte Support » Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:53 am

The new modern (slow and lame) BIOSs is why things would be slower. You
could try BIOS (direct) but you'd need BIBM.

"yoyo" wrote in message news:294@public.bootitng...

[quote="TeraByte Support(PP)":2fsvpwu9]What are the current
contents of the BOOTNOW.INI file and is it located in the C:\Windows folder?
Does BING come up normally when you boot the new drive?[/quote:2fsvpwu9]

Oeps,
Found it.
Was editing the INI file that I kept in the C:\Program Files\BootNow
directory. alt=":D" title="Very Happy" />
I thought this was the right INI, because the shortcut starts in this
directory also. alt=":oops:" title="Embarrassed" />
And usually INI's are close to there EXE's. src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_wink.gif" alt=";)" title="Wink" />

Now I deleted the INI in C:\Program Files\BootNow and placed a shortcut to
the one in C:\Windows
Everything works fine now. src="{SMILIES_PATH}/icon_cool.gif" alt="8-)" title="Cool" />
Thx..!

PS
BING is much slower since it is on the new drive. (WD Green 1TB vs WD Raptor
RAIDset in my old setup)

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby yoyo » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:46 am

TeraByte Support wrote:The new modern (slow and lame) BIOSs is why things would be slower. You
could try BIOS (direct) but you'd need BIBM.


It isn't that important. It's fast enough for what it does.
I have an update to BIBM, but haven't installed it yet. I bought it because a few month ago I had plans for a new system, but the system still isn't here... ;)
And I read something about images being different in BIBM or so..? Can't remember, but decided to wait for the new build and not upgrade my current system.
yoyo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:06 am

Re: BootNow - MDT not Found!

Postby DrTeeth » Fri Sep 16, 2011 2:26 pm

On Fri, 16 Sep 2011 10:46:56 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
yoyo disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>I have an update to BIBM, but haven't installed it yet
AIUI, a personal licence for BING is good for THREE PCs.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose to dance
in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am


Return to BootIt Next Generation