Still can't create spanned volume after removal of BootIt BM

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Still can't create spanned volume after removal of BootIt BM

Postby Milmoor » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:41 am

I'd like to experiment with software Raid0 on my Windows 7 premium setup. I can create a spanned volume on my second drive, but not on my boot drive. And I need at least two volumes for a Raid ;). The option is grayed out. I know it's not possible to use dynamics drives with BootIt BM, so I've removed it for now. Switched back to MBR, made Windows 7 the first entry in the partition table. I can convert the boot drive into a dynamic disk, but still can't create a spanned volume. Anything I missed when removing BootIt BM, or is the culprit something else entirely?
Some background: I've been using BootIt for quite some time now, but since my XP setup is now totally outdated, I've decided to do without dual booting for now. When needed for partition work or imaging, I'll boot from my trusty CF with BootIt BM on it.
Milmoor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:29 am

Re: Still can't create spanned volume after removal of BootIt BM

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:13 am

Has nothing to do with BootIt itself. You'd be best off getting a firmware
($10) or hardware ($80+) based RAID controller anyway.

"Milmoor" wrote in message news:1674@public.bootitbm...

I'd like to experiment with software Raid0 on my Windows 7 premium setup. I
can create a spanned volume on my second drive, but not on my boot drive.
And I need at least two volumes for a Raid

![;)]({SMILIES_PATH}/icon_e_wink.gif)

.. The option is grayed out. I know
[url=http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=535:63erbpwt]it's
not possible[/url:63erbpwt] to use dynamics drives with BootIt BM, so I've
removed it for now. Switched back to MBR, made Windows 7 the first entry in
the partition table. I can convert the boot drive into a dynamic disk, but
still can't create a spanned volume. Anything I missed when removing BootIt
BM, or is the culprit something else entirely?
Some background: I've been using BootIt for quite some time now, but since
my XP setup is now totally outdated, I've decided to do without dual booting
for now. When needed for partition work or imaging, I'll boot from my trusty
CF with BootIt BM on it.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Still can't create spanned volume after removal of BootI

Postby Milmoor » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:16 pm

Unfortunately I've totally ran out of PCI-e slots, so hardware is no option. I do prefer software raid to firmware (bios) raid by the way, since those complicate things when the main board fails. I use to have a Areca, but that was overkill for home use. I'll check what happens if I boot from another medium. Something is blocking the creation of a spanned volume, now to find what. Thanks for the swift reply.
Last edited by Milmoor on Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Milmoor
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:29 am

Re: Still can't create spanned volume after removal of BootI

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:34 am

Actually, having an add-in adapter makes it easy as you can take the adapter
and hd and move it to different motherboards without the hd controller
changing (which was one of the biggest hassles moving windows to a new mobo
with a different RAID controller).

"Milmoor" wrote in message news:1709@public.bootitbm...

Unfortunately I've totally ran out of PCI-e slots, so hardware is no option.
I do prefer software raid to firmware (bios) raid by the way, since those
complicate things when the main board fails. I use to have a Areca, but that
was overkill for home use. I'll check what happens if I boot from another
medium. Something is blocking the creation of a spanned volume, now to find
what. Thanks for the quick reply.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to BootIt Bare Metal