Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task from

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task from

Postby babuman » Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:37 pm

Hi,

My environment: Windows Server 2016 with all updates applied
Image for Windows ver: 3.1.0

I installed Image for Windows on this machine and I can successfully make backups. The problem is, when I try to schedule a backup, setting the backup frequency and entering my login credentials for the schedule and try to save the schedule, it brings up a popup box that says "Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task from running. Please enter the user password for the task to ensure the work-around is implemented". I enter my password and click OK, and the popup windows keeps opening over and over again asking for my password. The bottom line is due this problem, I am not able to schedule the job. This is really frustrating. Does anyone has any idea what is going on and what to do at this point? I am attaching an image of the popup.

By the way, Hibernation is disabled on this machine and Fast startup is not turned on (FYI)

Babu.
Attachments
IFW Popup.png
bug popup window
IFW Popup.png (9.7 KiB) Viewed 259 times
babuman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task from

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:00 am

you have to enter the password for the account you assigned to the task.


"babuman" wrote in message news:14259@public.image...

Hi,

My environment: Windows Server 2016 with all updates applied
Image for Windows ver: 3.1.0

I installed Image for Windows on this machine and I can successfully make
backups. The problem is, when I try to schedule a backup, setting the
backup frequency and entering my login credentials for the schedule and try
to save the schedule, it brings up a popup box that says "Windows 10 AU
contains a bug that may prevent the task from running. Please enter the
user password for the task to ensure the work-around is implemented". I
enter my password and click OK, and the popup windows keeps opening over and
over again asking for my password. The bottom line is due this problem, I
am not able to schedule the job. This is really frustrating. Does anyone
has any idea what is going on and what to do at this point? I am attaching
an image of the popup.

By the way, Hibernation is disabled on this machine and Fast startup is not
turned on (FYI)

Babu.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby babuman » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:54 pm

TeraByte Support wrote:
> you have to enter the password for the account you assigned to the task.
>
>

Wow! This is coming from the Support staff. I clearly mentioned in my post the when this popup opens, I do enter my password and click OK, but the popup keeps reappearing over and over again, no matter how many times I enter my password and click OK.

At this point, I regret buying this software for two reasons.
1. I can't schedule a backup task.
2. The Technical Support apparently don't read the post fully before answering.

Babu.


> "babuman" wrote in message news:14259@public.image...
>
> Hi,
>
> My environment: Windows Server 2016 with all updates applied
> Image for Windows ver: 3.1.0
>
> I installed Image for Windows on this machine and I can successfully make
> backups. The problem is, when I try to schedule a backup, setting the
> backup frequency and entering my login credentials for the schedule and try
>
> to save the schedule, it brings up a popup box that says "Windows 10 AU
> contains a bug that may prevent the task from running. Please enter the
> user password for the task to ensure the work-around is implemented". I
> enter my password and click OK, and the popup windows keeps opening over
> and
> over again asking for my password. The bottom line is due this problem, I
>
> am not able to schedule the job. This is really frustrating. Does anyone
>
> has any idea what is going on and what to do at this point? I am attaching
>
> an image of the popup.
>
> By the way, Hibernation is disabled on this machine and Fast startup is not
>
> turned on (FYI)
>
> Babu.
babuman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby Brian K » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:53 pm

Babu,

Which password are you entering?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:03 pm

Windows is rejecting the password you entered for the account you assigned
to the task or otherwise rejecting the ability to modify the task through the
task API. Consider running sfc /scannow

You can always create your own task via the task scheduler, copy/paste the
command line to use.

"babuman" wrote in message news:14284@public.image...

TeraByte Support wrote:
> you have to enter the password for the account you assigned to the task.
>
>

Wow! This is coming from the Support staff. I clearly mentioned in my post
the when this popup opens, I do enter my password and click OK, but the
popup keeps reappearing over and over again, no matter how many times I
enter my password and click OK.

At this point, I regret buying this software for two reasons.
1. I can't schedule a backup task.
2. The Technical Support apparently don't read the post fully before
answering.

Babu.
TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby Bob Coleman » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:25 am

babuman wrote:


> At this point, I regret buying this software for two reasons.
> 1. I can't schedule a backup task.
> 2. The Technical Support apparently don't read the post fully before answering.
>

The initial response might have been a little cryptic, but I don't think it was the result of not reading.

You keep saying you enter your password and it is rejected. The response is saying that the password you are entering is not for the account with which the task is associated.

I don't know whether or not that is the case, but it could be that the task is associated with an account other than the one (yours) whose password is being entered.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby DrTeeth » Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:22 pm

On Wed, 25 Oct 2017 14:54:53 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
babuman disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>At this point, I regret buying this software for two reasons.
>1. I can't schedule a backup task.
>2. The Technical Support apparently don't read the post fully before answering.

1) You can either read the manual or use any other of the many ways
that you can autostart a program. www.google.com is the best tech
support site on the net.

2) They are human, but tech support is excellent. Very fast and very
helpful.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby babuman » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:00 am

TeraByte Support wrote:
> Windows is rejecting the password you entered for the account you assigned
> to the task or otherwise rejecting the ability to modify the task through the
> task API. Consider running sfc /scannow
>
> You can always create your own task via the task scheduler, copy/paste the
> command line to use.
>
> "babuman" wrote in message news:14284@public.image...
>
> TeraByte Support wrote:
> > you have to enter the password for the account you assigned to the task.
> >
> >
>
> Wow! This is coming from the Support staff. I clearly mentioned in my post
> the when this popup opens, I do enter my password and click OK, but the
> popup keeps reappearing over and over again, no matter how many times I
> enter my password and click OK.
>
> At this point, I regret buying this software for two reasons.
> 1. I can't schedule a backup task.
> 2. The Technical Support apparently don't read the post fully before
> answering.
>
> Babu.


I am using the same password I use to login to the computer. This account is an Admin account. So, the question is if IFW is asking for an account that is capable of running a task in the task scheduler, I am giving it one. That is when it keeps coming back with the same dialog box repeatedly asking for a password. Unless this is some other password that I should know of. Somehow, I think, this is a bug.

OK. So, if I use the Windows Task Scheduler manually to schedule this backup task, what would be the "command line to use" in this scenario?
babuman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby Bob Coleman » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:34 am

babuman wrote:

> OK. So, if I use the Windows Task Scheduler manually to schedule this backup task,
> what would be the "command line to use" in this scenario?

I don't know, but if you manually walk through IFW until you get to where you can Show Command, you can probably see what the command should be.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Windows 10 AU contains a bug that may prevent the task f

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:33 pm

everyone would have the problem if it was related to the program (or WinAPI)
and not the system.

all you really need to do is edit the task that is there, change the
"configure for" to be Windows 10.


"babuman" wrote in message news:14340@public.image...

TeraByte Support wrote:
I am using the same password I use to login to the computer. This account
is an Admin account. So, the question is if IFW is asking for an account
that is capable of running a task in the task scheduler, I am giving it one.
That is when it keeps coming back with the same dialog box repeatedly asking
for a password. Unless this is some other password that I should know of.
Somehow, I think, this is a bug.

OK. So, if I use the Windows Task Scheduler manually to schedule this
backup task, what would be the "command line to use" in this scenario?

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows