Phylock failed to cache all changes

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby IHipschman » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:13 pm

I just had a backup fail with the error message "Phylock failed to cache all changes. Please increase cache size in settings." I am on Windows 10 using Image for Windows v 3.08 and am backing up to DVD. The error occurred immediately upon beginning the byte for byte validation. Where do I find the setting to increase the cache size and how much should I increase it?

Thanks.
IHipschman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby Bob Coleman » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:22 am

IHipschman wrote:
> I just had a backup fail with the error message "Phylock failed to
> cache all changes. Please increase cache size in settings." I am on
> Windows 10 using Image for Windows v 3.08 and am backing up to DVD. The
> error occurred immediately upon beginning the byte for byte validation.
> Where do I find the setting to increase the cache size and how much should
> I increase it?
>
> Thanks.

See page 151 of the IFW manual or search the manual for "plcs". Looks like you can add /plcs=n to an IFW command or put PHYLockCacheSize=n in IFW.ini.

Apparently the default value is 8192. I don't know if this is good advice, but I'd probably just double it if I were going to do anything.

I get this error occasionally when I happen to try to create a backup at the same time Windows is downloading updates in the background. I usually just try again after the downloading completes.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:33 am

You can know what is why by looking in the ifw.log for the phylock error,
then see http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=551


"IHipschman" wrote in message news:14059@public.image...

I just had a backup fail with the error message "Phylock failed to cache all
changes. Please increase cache size in settings." I am on Windows 10 using
Image for Windows v 3.08 and am backing up to DVD. The error occurred
immediately upon beginning the byte for byte validation. Where do I find the
setting to increase the cache size and how much should I increase it?

Thanks.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby IHipschman » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:38 am

To Terabyte Support:
I have searched my hard drive and the file ifw.log doesn't seem to be there. Is the text of the error message not sufficient to know what the problem is?

To Bob Coleman:
Thanks. I'll try putting PHYLockCacheSize=16384 in IFW.ini if TeraByte support doesn't come up with another idea.
IHipschman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby TeraByte Support » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:53 pm

Hello,

Click settings, click the blue icon.

"IHipschman" wrote in message news:14062@public.image...

To Terabyte Support:
I have searched my hard drive and the file ifw.log doesn't seem to be there.
Is the text of the error message not sufficient to know what the problem is?

To Bob Coleman:
Thanks. I'll try putting PHYLockCacheSize=16384 in IFW.ini if TeraByte
support doesn't come up with another idea.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Phylock failed to cache all changes

Postby Bob Coleman » Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:32 pm

IHipschman wrote:
>
> To Bob Coleman:
> Thanks. I'll try putting PHYLockCacheSize=16384 in IFW.ini if TeraByte
> support doesn't come up with another idea.

I didn't realize this before, but I see that the cache size can be specified in Settings and that that causes IFW.ini to be updated.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows