CopyWipe Help Needed

User discussion forum for items related to technology in general.

CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby AlanD » Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:44 am

I am posting to this group since TBU apparently no longer "supports"
CopyWipe

I have a new750 GB HD successfully formatted in Win 7 to NTFS, one
simple volume.

I used CopyWipe from within Windows to copy contents of a single
partition 500 GB drive to this new 750 GB drive, using the SCALE SIZE
option.

When copying finished, the new drive was not recognized and WIN 7 Disk
Management said it was unallocated.

I have no idea how to proceed at this point.
I would hate to have to redo the 2-hour long Copy procedure again.

thanks for any insights and help

FWIW, I do NOT have BIBM

AlanD
AlanD
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:45 am

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby Brian K » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:49 am

Alan, if the new drive shows unallocated space, the copy didn't happen. What was in the 500 GB partition? An OS or just a data partition?

If it was a data partition I suggest using the Copy choice in IFW. If it was an OS then use the Copy choice in IFD or IFL. These Copy choices are far better than CopyWipe.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby AlanD » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:04 pm

On 2013-12-01 1:49 PM, Brian K wrote:
> Alan, if the new drive shows unallocated space, the copy didn't happen. What was in the 500 GB partition? An OS or just a data partition?
>
> If it was a data partition I suggest using the Copy choice in IFW. If it was an OS then use the Copy choice in IFD or IFL. These Copy choices are far better than CopyWipe.
>
>
Thanks Brian,
Sorry, I should have stated what drive the content was.

It is my Music Library, which was moved from the C: drive a year ago.
{Just data).

I will certainly give the IFW Copy app a go, after reformatting the new
drive.

I wonder why the drive no longer showed that it was formatted NTFS,
simple volume?
AlanD
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:45 am

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby Brian K » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:09 pm

AlanD wrote:

> I will certainly give the IFW Copy app a go, after reformatting the new
> drive.

Alan, that's not necessary. Just copy to the unallocated space and choose a final partition size. Or the entire space. If you don't choose a size you will get 500 GB.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby AlanD » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:17 pm

On 2013-12-01 3:09 PM, Brian K wrote:
> AlanD wrote:
>
>> I will certainly give the IFW Copy app a go, after reformatting the new
>> drive.
>
> Alan, that's not necessary. Just copy to the unallocated space and choose a final partition size. Or the entire space. If you don't choose a size you will get 500 GB.
>
>OK, but I did not proceed because I am seeing something out of kilter in
first window of COPY operation, regards the new (750 GB drive):

HD2 - EMBR (out of sync) (715405 MiB) (54211992)
(E:) MBR Entry 0 (715402 MiB) Fat-16 (14)



AlanD
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:45 am

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby Brian K » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:22 pm

AlanD wrote:

> HD2 - EMBR (out of sync) (715405 MiB) (54211992)
> (E:) MBR Entry 0 (715402 MiB) Fat-16 (14)

Try deleting the partition on the new HD and copying into unallocated space.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby AlanD » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:31 pm

On 2013-12-01 3:22 PM, Brian K wrote:
> AlanD wrote:
>
>> HD2 - EMBR (out of sync) (715405 MiB) (54211992)
>> (E:) MBR Entry 0 (715402 MiB) Fat-16 (14)
>
> Try deleting the partition on the new HD and copying into unallocated space.
>
>
did that, and the error is gone, but before I begin operation, I am left
with a lot of possible options, so if you have any suggestions about
which options to apply, I would appreciate that.
AlanD
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:45 am

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby Brian K » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:38 pm

AlanD wrote:
, I am left
> with a lot of possible options, so if you have any suggestions about
> which options to apply, I would appreciate that.

I'd leave the 3 ticks in place
put a tick in Validate Byte-for-Byte if you want to

In Resize after Copy, enter the Max value
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby AlanD » Sun Dec 01, 2013 6:35 pm

On 2013-12-01 3:38 PM, Brian K wrote:
> AlanD wrote:
> , I am left
>> with a lot of possible options, so if you have any suggestions about
>> which options to apply, I would appreciate that.
>
> I'd leave the 3 ticks in place
> put a tick in Validate Byte-for-Byte if you want to
>
> In Resize after Copy, enter the Max value
>

OK, here's the update:

1) the problems were caused by not rebooting after using Disk manager to
make changes in the new disk (I had forgotten that necessary step)

2) Note there is no Resize after Copy option in my version of IFW (2.85)

3) I selected the Scale to Fit option along with Validate B for B

4) Also forgot you have to remove the original disk after cloning. By
not doing that, new disk was taken offline

5) After several false starts, and then 3 hours of copying - job finished

Thank you Brian for your always willingness to help out.

I guess I will in future reserve CopyWipe for wiping only.

AlanD

AlanD
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:45 am

Re: CopyWipe Help Needed

Postby Brian K » Sun Dec 01, 2013 6:47 pm

AlanD wrote:
>
>
> 2) Note there is no Resize after Copy option in my version of IFW (2.85)
>
> 3) I selected the Scale to Fit option along with Validate B for B
>

Alan, nice work.

You did an Entire Drive Copy where I was describing a Partition Copy. No problems however.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm


Return to Technology