Page 1 of 1

Command line backup

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:15 am
by chrisbooyens
Hi,

Very new - used Windows GUI previously. Trying to create command line batch file for backup to external drive. Creates backup, install new unformatted drive and restore with BartPE disk, restores but Windows 7 unable to boot complains about system to be repaired, sure I am missing something. I am trying to backup the complete drive to make it easy to restore to a replacement drive.

Please see and advise my batch file:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /uy /d:0 /f:"f:\backup -$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$.TBI


Thanks
Chris

Re: Command line backup

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:41 am
by TeraByte Support
looks fine provided drive zero is the drive to backup. when you restore
you'd do an entire drive restore as well (enable the update boot partition
option if available or via command line /upb).

"chrisbooyens" wrote in message news:3771@public.scripting...

Hi,

Very new - used Windows GUI previously. Trying to create command line batch
file for backup to external drive. Creates backup, install new unformatted
drive and restore with BartPE disk, restores but Windows 7 unable to boot
complains about system to be repaired, sure I am missing something. I am
trying to backup the complete drive to make it easy to restore to a
replacement drive.

Please see and advise my batch file:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe"
/b /uy /d:0 /f:"f:\backup -$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$.TBI


Thanks
Chris


Re: Command line backup

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:59 am
by AlanD
On 2012-11-17 5:41 AM, TeraByte Support wrote:
> when you restore
> you'd do an entire drive restore as well (enable the update boot partition
> option if available or via command line /upb).

I caught this from Terabyte while reading post:

"when you restore
you'd do an entire drive restore as well
(enable the update boot partition
option if available or via command line /upb)."

Have never seen this option before, or does this option only now appear
in latest versions (2.77)?
Also, is it applicable (and desirable) for all restore operations?

AlanD



Re: Command line backup

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 4:41 pm
by George
The only thing I see is the last parameter starting with "f:\backup is
followed by a blank and there's no trailing double quote. (This may be a
cut-and-paste error.)
BTW, I image my partitions separately and on the full backup, I use the
--hash parameter with compression. (Can't remember what compression
number I use right now. Sorry.)

George
---
There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and
Those who don't.


On 11/14/2012 7:15 AM, chrisbooyens wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Very new - used Windows GUI previously. Trying to create command line batch file for backup to external drive. Creates backup, install new unformatted drive and restore with BartPE disk, restores but Windows 7 unable to boot complains about system to be repaired, sure I am missing something. I am trying to backup the complete drive to make it easy to restore to a replacement drive.
>
> Please see and advise my batch file:
>
> "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2\imagew.exe" /b /uy /d:0 /f:"f:\backup -$~YYYY$-$~MM$-$~DD$-$~HHMM$.TBI
>
>
> Thanks
> Chris
>
>