Should IFW be running all the time?

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Should IFW be running all the time?

Postby bernie » Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:42 am

I tried updating to 2.7 and couldn't: it couldn't replace the imagew.exe
file -- got an access error. A trip to task manager revealed that I have
*TWO* copies of ifw running right now. Neither seems to be doing anything
and I don't have a backup running right now. Is it safe just to nuke them
from task manager?

/Bernie\
--
Bernie Cosell Fantasy Farm Fibers
bernie@fantasyfarm.com Pearisburg, VA
--> Too many people, too few sheep <--
bernie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:50 am

Re: Should IFW be running all the time?

Postby DrTeeth » Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:44 am

On Mon, 9 Apr 2012 05:42:46 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
Bernie Cosell disturbed my reverie and
wrote:

> Is it safe just to nuke them
>from task manager?

Yes. If you are uncomfortable doing that, a reboot should do the same
thing as long as the file has not been set to autorun for some reason.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose to dance
in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Should IFW be running all the time?

Postby bernie » Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:19 am

DrTeeth wrote:

} On Mon, 9 Apr 2012 05:42:46 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
} Bernie Cosell
}
} disturbed my reverie and
} wrote:
}
} > Is it safe just to nuke them
} >from task manager?
}
} Yes. If you are uncomfortable doing that, a reboot should do the same
} thing as long as the file has not been set to autorun for some reason.

OK: I nuked just one of them and they both went away. And my 2.7 install
went just fine. tnx! /b\
--
Bernie Cosell Fantasy Farm Fibers
bernie@fantasyfarm.com Pearisburg, VA
--> Too many people, too few sheep <--
bernie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:50 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows