Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

Postby now_john » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:10 pm

I have a Bing partition that includes IFD that I use sucessfully on two desktops and two laptops that run XP. It is the first partition on the disk. I recently acquired a Dell laptop running Windows 7. I deleted the first partition that was the Dell Diagnostic Utility partition. I moved things around so that I have room for a 102 MB partition, which is the first partition. I made an image from one of the XP machines using IFD and pasted it in. It began to boot but then gave some long string of numbers as an error code. I have fdos_f32.tbi and fdos_16.tbi from the file bing_ifd_auto.zip from the tbu web site and tried each of these. The 32 bit version gives a similar error code. It had read autoexec.bat and the screen showed boot menu options from it, but then it showed an error code. The 16 bit version loads the string FreeDOS and then hangs. Does anyone have any suggestions that might help me to get FreeDOS to boot on that partition? I tried some different options while running the IFD restoration, but none helped.

Windows boots fine. I have no other os's that I am trying to boot.

Thanks,

John
now_john
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:15 am

Re: Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

Postby TeraByte Support » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:50 pm

check it with BIBM partition work / properties and if has any question to
fix something, say yes.

"now_john" wrote in message news:956@public.image...

I have a Bing partition that includes IFD that I use sucessfully on two
desktops and two laptops that run XP. It is the first partition on the disk.
I recently acquired a Dell laptop running Windows 7. I deleted the first
partition that was the Dell Diagnostic Utility partition. I moved things
around so that I have room for a 102 MB partition, which is the first
partition. I made an image from one of the XP machines using IFD and pasted
it in. It began to boot but then gave some long string of numbers as an
error code. I have fdos_f32.tbi and fdos_16.tbi from the file
bing_ifd_auto.zip from the tbu web site and tried each of these. The 32 bit
version gives a similar error code. It had read autoexec.bat and the screen
showed boot menu options from it, but then it showed an error code. The 16
bit version loads the string FreeDOS and then hangs. Does anyone have any
suggestions that might help me to get FreeDOS to boot on that partition? I
tried some different options while running the IFD restoration, but none
helped.

Windows boots fine. I have no other os's that I am trying to boot.

Thanks,

John

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2325
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

Postby now_john » Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:00 pm

Checked it with BIBM and all is ok, but neither fdos_f16.tbi nor fdos_f32.tbi completes the boot process.
now_john
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:15 am

Re: Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

Postby Brian K » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:01 pm

John,

I restored fdos_f16.tbi as a separate partition and created a Boot Item in BIBM. Works fine.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Using IFD and freedos to automate imaging

Postby now_john » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:59 pm

I have success with freedos on other computers though sometimes it wasn't simple. But it must be something on the computer. I ended up using tbos and then installing IFD cui version into the partition and it seems to be working. I wanted to use freedos because then I also install spinrite in it and run it from there. Tbos is lacking functionality that spinrite needs, so I put spinrite on a usb drive and boot it from there.
now_john
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:15 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows