Page 1 of 1

WinPE/RE needs IFW pre-installed to operate

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:55 am
by Yottabytes
Do WinPE or RE depend on the pre-installation of Image for Windows on a hard drive in order to operate when booting from the WinPE rescue disk? In other words after creating a WinPE/RE, will I be able to use the rescue disk on an unformatted hard drive that doesn't have Image for Windows installed? I'm looking for a work around for the lack of support for file system browsing from the regular IFL rescue disk. See post viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2313

Re: WinPE/RE needs IFW pre-installed to operate

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 12:32 pm
by TeraByte Support(PP)
Booting TBWinRE or TBWinPE on a system doesn't require IFW to be installed on it.

Have you tried the current version of IFL V3? Are those partitions still not showing up?

Re: WinPE/RE needs IFW pre-installed to operate

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 5:25 pm
by Yottabytes
Detection of PCI SSDs does work on v3.03 (thanks!) but for some reason the detection and mounting take a long time. Although, having built the WinRE disk since my first post, I see that that disk takes longer to boot than IFL. So I guess it's a coin flip. :?

Re: WinPE/RE needs IFW pre-installed to operate

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 6:02 pm
by TeraByte Support(PP)
I didn't notice any excessive times in my tests, but systems vary a lot.

How long is it actually taking to detect (I assume this is for them to show up in the list)? How long to mount? Difference compared to a normal drive partition on the system?

Re: WinPE/RE needs IFW pre-installed to operate

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:43 am
by Yottabytes
@TeraByte Support. False alarm. My CD drive was loaded and apparently that drive was scanned during the attempt to mount the PCI SSD partitions. Once I removed the CD the PCI SSD mount speed was comparable to my other hard drives. Thanks.