WinPE error

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:01 am

Hi.

Got an error while creating a boot Flash unit (see image).
The folder is empty. I closed Explorer, canceled and repeated the process, same error.
Windows 10 1607, IFW 2.03a.

How could I solve this problem?
Attachments
IFW_1_Capture.PNG
IFW_1_Capture.PNG (19.13 KiB) Viewed 1737 times
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:55 am

What does the log show?

You could also go into Settings (General tab) and disable the "Use DISM API if supported" option. They try again and check the log (the error may be more descriptive).
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Mon Oct 31, 2016 1:54 pm

The problem was solved, or rather it disappeared, after I uninstalled IFW and WADK, installed them again, and repeated the process.

Some details.

First, I tried with WinRE. It created the ISO successfully. I thought that possibly the problem was related to WADK (I was using WADK for Windows 10 1607).

I had installed both IFW and WADK in Shadow Mode (with Shadow Defender enabled), so I rebooted to uninstall them.

I repeated the whole process in the same way. Enabled Shadow Mode, installed IFW and WADK, and tried again to create the WinPE. This time no error, the ISO was created successfully.

I also tried with "Use DISM API if supported" disabled. Same result, no problem. I have used the same procedure many times, this was the first time I had a problem, not sure what the cause was.
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:34 pm

Possibly it was an issue with the mount folder itself. Did you try to delete it in any of your attempts? If so, did it error?

If it happens again, another thing you could try would be to copy the entire "tbwinre" folder to another location (e.g. C:\tbwinre) and run it from there.

Since you need to reinstall the ADK every time this way, you might find it helpful to just copy out the installed files (I think it's the "10" folder for that one). Then you can just copy those files in when needed (or leave them on a data disk) and point Builder to it -- no need to install.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:51 am

I didn´t try to delete the mount folder.

I´ll try next time to point the Builder to the "Installers" folder, instead of installing WADK. Thanks.

EDIT - I tried to point the Builder to the Installers folder, got an error (see image).
Attachments
IFW_2_Capture.PNG
IFW_2_Capture.PNG (6.02 KiB) Viewed 1690 times
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:53 pm

Update.

Tried again to build the WinPE ISO with IFW 3.04, got the same error, "The WinPE image couldn´t be mounted successfully"-

"You could also go into Settings (General tab) and disable the "Use DISM API if supported" option" > I did, same error.

"Copy the entire "tbwinre" folder to another location (e.g. C:\tbwinre) and run it from there2 > I did, same error.

Log file says:

Creating TBWinPE build (Architecture: AMD64)
Initializing DISM (1,0)
Warning: Unable to initialize DISM API
DISM initialized (E)
Copying WinPE files
Warning: Unable to check for stale mount point (9,0xD)
| Error: 13
| Error loading DISM. DISM tool may be damaged (translated).
| Try to install DISM again (translated).
Mounting WinPE image
Error: Unable to mount WinPE image (9,0xD)
User prompt: Retry or Cancel operation
User selected to retry the operation
Warning: Unable to check for stale mount point (9,0xD)
etc

Tried to build a WinRE ISO. Process finished OK, no problem.

Tried in another computer, laptop also Windows 10 1607. Same error with WinPE, WinRE OK.
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Sun Nov 13, 2016 12:20 am

Did you get the path to the ADK files figured out?

Could you post (or attach) the complete build log? Also a log for a TBWinRE build that works?

Is Shadow Defender enabled on both systems? Updated current for Windows 10? Is it enabled when creating the TBWinRE build?

If something is preventing DISM from working properly then it won't be able to create the build. What you posted indicates it's not working in either mode.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:04 am

WADK for Win10 1607 - I installed it and then copied the 10 folder to another location in a data partition, pointed the WinPE Builder to this location. No problem with this, it seems.

Logfile - I attached the complete log.

Logfile for the WinRE - I didn´t save it.

Shadow Defender: enabled in all cases, in both computers, latest version. I have used this setup many times before, don´t think there is any problem related to SD.

I did other tests:

IFW 2.99 - Same error. But it had worked previously with Win10 1511. I have a 2.99 WinPE ISO built on March this year.

Other imaging program: I built a WinPE ISO , same setup. It downloaded the WinPE files it uses, mounted and dismounted the image and created the ISO OK.

The WINRE ISO I created in the laptop works well in both computers, so I can use this. But something is wrong with the WinPE.

EDIT - The log file can´t be attached either as .log or .txt.
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:03 pm

I found a solution: Use WADK for Windows 10 1511, not for 1607.

I tried with IFW 3.04 and the WinPE ISO was created successfully.

Logfile:

TBWinPE/RE Builder v1.7
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - Initializing
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - Windows version: Windows 10 Pro [10.0.14393-1607,x64]
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - Creating TBWinPE.INI (using default values)
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - Importing settings from TBWinRE.cmd script file
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - File copied to config folder: TBLauncher.ini
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - File copied to config folder: startnet.cmd
2016-11-13 15:51:46 - Initialization complete
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - Verifying build requirements (TBWinPE)
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - Image for Windows 3.04 found: C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - TBIView 4.38d found: C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TBIView
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - TBIMount 1.15c found: C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TBIView
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - TBOSDT 1.64 found (Professional for BootIt version): C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TeraByte OSD Tool Suite Pro
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - | Warning: BootIt BM license key not found or appears invalid. Without a valid key, TBOSDT will run in Professional mode.
2016-11-13 15:52:14 - Build source: Windows 10 ADK
2016-11-13 15:52:15 - Verification complete
2016-11-13 15:52:23 - Creating TBWinPE build (Architecture: AMD64)
2016-11-13 15:52:23 - Initializing DISM (1,0)
2016-11-13 15:52:23 - DISM initialized (A)
2016-11-13 15:52:24 - Copying WinPE files
2016-11-13 15:52:29 - Mounting WinPE image
2016-11-13 15:52:47 - WinPE image file architecture: x64 [10.0.10586.0]
2016-11-13 15:52:51 - Configuring WinPE
2016-11-13 15:52:51 - Adding TBLauncher
2016-11-13 15:52:52 - Adding Image for Windows
2016-11-13 15:52:53 - Adding TBIView
2016-11-13 15:52:53 - Adding TBIMount
2016-11-13 15:52:54 - Adding TeraByte OSD Tool Suite (Pro for BootIt)
2016-11-13 15:52:54 - | BootIt BM license key not found
2016-11-13 15:52:56 - Finalizing build
2016-11-13 15:52:57 - Saving WinPE image
2016-11-13 15:53:11 - Unmounting WinPE image
2016-11-13 15:53:23 - Build process completed successfully
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Re: WinPE error

Postby Fracso » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:14 am

I tried with IFW 3.05, since the WinPE Builder was updated, but I got the same results.

WinPE, WADK for 1607 - failed.
WinRE, OK.
WinPE, WADK for 1511 - OK.
Fracso
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Next

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows