Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby IHipschman » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:36 pm

I am using Image for Windows V2.97d. I routinely backup my System Reserved and C partitions to a single file and then restore them to a second physical hard drive on the same machine as a test of the backup. Lately I have been unable to do the restore because I get a dialog saying it is unable to get a lock on drive I (this is the copy of my C drive). I know of no reason why anything should be accessing that partition. I can get around it by using Image for DOS to do the restore, but I would like to use Image for Windows. Do you have any suggestions as to how to find out what program is causing the problem?

Thanks.
IHipschman
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby mjnelson99 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:22 pm

You cannot use IFW to restore to the same drive that is running IFW.
So just use IFD or check out IFL. It may be a bit faster.
Mary

On 10/24/2016 6:36 PM, IHipschman wrote:
> I am using Image for Windows V2.97d. I routinely backup my

System Reserved and C partitions to a single file and then restore

them to a second physical hard drive on the same machine as a test of
the backup.

Lately I have been unable to do the restore because I get a dialog
saying it is unable to get a lock on drive I (this is the copy of my C
drive). I know of no reason why anything should be accessing that
partition. I can get around it by using Image for DOS to do the restore,
but I would like to use Image for Windows. Do you have any suggestions
as to how to find out what program is causing the problem?
>
> Thanks.
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby IHipschman » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:38 pm

Hi Mary,

Please have another look at my post. I am not restoring to the drive that is running IFW, nor to the drive that is running Windows. I am running IFW from my C: drive. I am restoring to a separate physical hard drive. The partition shown in the error message is I:. One thing I did not mention in my original post is that I am backing up to and restoring from a Blu-Ray optical disk.

Thanks again for any help you can provide,
Ivan
IHipschman
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby mjnelson99 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:56 pm

I realized that right after I sent it.
Do give IFL a test run.
Mary

On 10/24/2016 7:38 PM, IHipschman wrote:
> Hi Mary,
>
> Please have another look at my post. I am not restoring to the drive that is running IFW, nor to the drive that is running Windows. I am running IFW from my C: drive. I am restoring to a separate physical hard drive. The partition shown in the error message is I:. One thing I did not mention in my original post is that I am backing up to and restoring from a Blu-Ray optical disk.
>
> Thanks again for any help you can provide,
> Ivan
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby TeraByte Support » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:57 pm

use the aggressive lock option (may need to update to 2.99).

otherwise, use process explorer and search file handles for that drive
letter to see what files are open on it that are preventing a lock.


"IHipschman" wrote in message news:12737@public.image...

I am using Image for Windows V2.97d. I routinely backup my System Reserved
and C partitions to a single file and then restore them to a second physical
hard drive on the same machine as a test of the backup. Lately I have been
unable to do the restore because I get a dialog saying it is unable to get a
lock on drive I (this is the copy of my C drive). I know of no reason why
anything should be accessing that partition. I can get around it by using
Image for DOS to do the restore, but I would like to use Image for Windows.
Do you have any suggestions as to how to find out what program is causing
the problem?

Thanks.

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby IHipschman » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:23 pm

Sorry for the ignorance. I downloaded and ran Process Explorer and may need help using it. I added the column "image Path" in the top pane. All the listed paths are on C: but I am still getting the error saying it is unable to get a lock on the target drive (I:). Am I using Process Explorer correctly?

Thanks
IHipschman
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:18 pm

Find / Find Handle or DLL...

enter:

I:


"IHipschman" wrote in message news:12947@public.image...

Sorry for the ignorance. I downloaded and ran Process Explorer and may need
help using it. I added the column "image Path" in the top pane. All the
listed paths are on C: but I am still getting the error saying it is unable
to get a lock on the target drive (I:). Am I using Process Explorer
correctly?

Thanks

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby IHipschman » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:54 pm

I did a find on I: and it came up empty. I believe I did it correctly because a find on C: produced a huge list. So I'm still unable to do the restore with IFW. Do you have any other suggestions? Do you think upgrading to V3 will resolve this?
IHipschman
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:48 am

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby Bob Coleman » Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:26 pm

Maybe download a V3 trial and find out.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Unable to obtain a lock on drive * for restore

Postby mjnelson99 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:17 pm

If you are restoring to a separate drive or partition, I really do not
understand why you would need a lock?

What, specfically, are you restoring from and to??
Mary

On 12/16/2016 12:54 AM, IHipschman wrote:
> I did a find on I: and it came up empty. I believe I did it correctly

because a find on C: produced a huge list. So I'm still unable to do the

restore with IFW. Do you have any other suggestions?

Do you think upgrading to V3 will resolve this?
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Next

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows