SSD question

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

SSD question

Postby Walter B » Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:32 am

I'm considering migrating my OS (Win 10 Pro) from my failing 1TB HDD to
a 250 GB SSD. What changes do I need to make in the IFW settings? I've
always just used the default settings, but have never had an SSD before.
--
Walter B
Walter B
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:48 am

Re: SSD question

Postby Brian K » Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:46 pm

Walter B wrote:
> I'm considering migrating my OS (Win 10 Pro) from my failing 1TB HDD to
> a 250 GB SSD.

Walter,

You need to make sure the sectors in use will fit on your SSD then do an Entire Drive copy or Entire Drive image/restore.

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
Brian K
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: SSD question

Postby Walter B » Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:04 am

Thanks, Brian. Currently in use on the old disk 120 GB. New SSD will
be 250 GB. Should be fine.

On 9/13/2016 12:46 AM, Brian K wrote:
> Walter B wrote:
>> I'm considering migrating my OS (Win 10 Pro) from my failing 1TB HDD to
>> a 250 GB SSD.
>
> Walter,
>
> You need to make sure the sectors in use will fit on your SSD then do an Entire Drive copy or Entire Drive image/restore.
>
> [
> http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
> ](http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554)
>
>
>

--
Walter B
Walter B
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:48 am

Re: SSD question

Postby Brian K » Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:08 am

Walter B wrote:
> Thanks, Brian. Currently in use on the old disk 120 GB. New SSD will
> be 250 GB. Should be fine.
>

That might or might not be so. You have to check the sectors in use by "MiB to Restore". It's possible your sectors in use could be spread over more than 250 MIB.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: SSD question

Postby Walter B » Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:54 am

Where do I find that?

On 9/13/2016 8:08 AM, Brian K wrote:
> Walter B wrote:
>> Thanks, Brian. Currently in use on the old disk 120 GB. New SSD will
>> be 250 GB. Should be fine.
>>
>
> That might or might not be so. You have to check the sectors in use by "MiB to Restore". It's possible your sectors in use could be spread over more than 250 MIB.
>
>

--
Walter B
Walter B
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:48 am

Re: SSD question

Postby Brian K » Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:50 pm

Walter B wrote:
> Where do I find that?
>



It's described in...

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554

See "Preparing for the Move".
Brian K
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: SSD question

Postby Walter B » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:54 am

Thanks, Brian. Much appreciated.

On 9/14/2016 4:50 PM, Brian K wrote:
> Walter B wrote:
>> Where do I find that?
>>
>
>
>
> It's described in...
>
> [
> http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554
> ](http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554)
>
> See "Preparing for the Move".
>
>

--
Walter B
Walter B
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:48 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows

cron