Page 1 of 1

Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:47 pm
by TeraByte Support
Quick notes for existing V2 user moving to version 3.

1) Program Folder Location is Different

The biggest difference for existing scheduled tasks, scripts and the like is the location of the .exe.

For example, the x86 V2 default location on was:
"c:\program files\terabyte unlimited\image for windows\v2"

The new V3 default location is:
"c:\program files\terabyte drive image backup and restore suite"

2) PHYLock location is shared.

If you uninstall V2 after installing V3 it will remove PHYLock. There is no need to reboot here, just reinstall version 3, again no need to reboot since the PHYLock driver is the same (that is the only reason for the reboot requirement).

If you install V2 after V3 is installed, the PHYLock version will be replaced. It's recommended to not install PHYLock with the V2 installation. If you end up uninstalling V3, PHYlock will be removed and V2 must be reinstalled.

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:18 pm
by rseiler
OK, good, so really, v3 can be installed and kept on the system side-by-side with v2. Later, when you want to decommission v2, just uninstall it and note the need to refresh the v3 install if using PHYLock.

BTW, are those four new "MT" switches in the new manual? It may be a failure of my PDF reader's search function, which has been a little unpredictable before in some cases.

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 3:06 pm
by timg11
If I want to choose a shorter install path such as "c:\program files\terabyte", will the installer be smart enough to install updates to that same location automatically? Or will I have to remember to manually set the install location with every new version?

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 3:51 pm
by timg11
I went ahead and tried the install.

I notice it is installing into C:\Program Files (x86) on my 64 bit system. Isn't the convention for 64 bit programs to install into C:\Program Files ?

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 4:05 pm
by rseiler
Yes, but very few programs are 64-bit. Is this one? When it's active in Task Manager, does it have (32-bit) next to it?

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 4:51 pm
by TeraByte Support(PP)
IFW installs by default into the "C:\Program Files (x86)" folder. However, there are both x86 and x64 versions of the programs (imagew.exe, imagew64.exe, etc.).

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 12:54 pm
by timg11
Paul,

I installed to "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte" because I wanted shorter paths in scripts. Upon completion, I have IFW at "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte\imagew64.exe"

Unfortunately I also have "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TBIView" and "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TeraByte OSD Tool Suite Pro"

I ran the IFW installer again, and it does seem to remember "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte" as the install location.
It would be helpful if all the Terabyte tools would install to the same path "C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte", and not just IFW.

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:04 pm
by TeraByte Support(PP)
You would need to run those installers separately to set the paths. There are options to do this in the IFW installer (show the setup wizards), but you'd probably need to uninstall and reinstall to use them.

Re: Quick V3 Notes

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 11:03 am
by timg11
IMHO, if the user specifies a custom folder for the primary application in the suite, it is reasonable to assume that it would be the desired folder for all of the programs.