Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby DrTeeth » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:34 pm

Hi,

I am trying to copy an older 500GB to an SSD which is 480GB. I got a
fail using the shrink to fit option.

There is more than enough space for the data on the new disk. Is there
an easy way around this? It would be handy to be able to tell the copy
process just to ignore the empty space. I was hoping that IfW's
ability to copy only used sectors would help. All file systems are
compatible with this.

Whilst waiting for a reply to this, I have move the last partition on
the old drive so that all of its space is at the end to see if that
helps.

I would rather copy the whole disk in one go. I could be able to get
around this by copying a few of the partitions (rather than the whole
disk) and then later restoring the missing partitions from a backup.
Where would be the fun in doing that eh?

Thanks in advance.
--
Cheers,

DrT

** Stress - the condition brought about by having to
** resist the temptation to beat the living daylights
** out of someone who richly deserves it.
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby DrTeeth » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:41 pm

It looks like having the free space at the end of the drive did the
trick. It's copying and I did not get the 'not enough space' error.

Is this a recognised 'fix' for this sort of thing?
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:52 pm

Did one or more of the partitions need to be compacted? It should have reported how much space it would require.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby DrTeeth » Thu Jun 02, 2016 6:13 am

On Wed, 1 Jun 2016 14:52:09 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
TeraByte Support(PP) disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>Did one or more of the partitions need to be compacted? It should have reported how much space it would require.
>
No, an error message (IIRC, failure to shrink) occurred.
I moved my last partition to the front of the disk so all the free
space was at the end and then the copy succeeded without having to use
shrink to fit
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:51 pm

There may be a file system error that prevented the resize from taking place. In that case, "chkdsk /f" would need to be run on it.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby DrTeeth » Fri Jun 03, 2016 9:37 am

On Thu, 2 Jun 2016 15:51:51 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
TeraByte Support(PP) disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>There may be a file system error that prevented the resize from taking place. In that case, "chkdsk /f" would need to be run on it.

The only difference between the unsuccessful and successful backup was
sliding the partition at the end of my disk to be next to the rest of
the data on the disk. I assume it was that that allowed the contents
of the old (larger) disk to fit into the smaller SSD. I just wanted to
check if things did work that way.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:28 am

If there are unallocated areas between partitions that prevent it from fitting you can use the "Remove Gaps..." option to remove them. Otherwise, if a file system error prevented the resize then restoring/copying as you did without scaling (resizing) would also work.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Copy to new disk - shrink to fit

Postby DrTeeth » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:21 pm

On Fri, 3 Jun 2016 11:28:15 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
TeraByte Support(PP) disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>If there are unallocated areas between partitions that prevent it from fitting you can use the "Remove Gaps..." option to remove them. Otherwise, if a file system error prevented the resize then restoring/copying as you did without scaling (resizing) would also work.
>
Thank you for confirming that and pointing out the "remove gaps on
copy" option.
--
Cheers,

DrT

"If you want to find out what is wrong
with democracy, spend five minutes with
the average voter." - Winston Churchill
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows