Error loading operating system

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Error loading operating system

Postby goudeuk » Thu May 19, 2016 8:17 am

Hello

I purchased "Image for Linux" a couple of days ago but I am unable to restore a windows 7 image
on different hardware with RAID1.

I created an image of a single 500GB disk and I am trying to restore it on different hardware with 2 RAID1 disks (500GB each). When the restore is completed, the message "restore was successful" pops up but when I reboot, I get: Error loading operating system

Is what I am trying to do possible? Can you restore an image of a single disk to RAID1?

Thank you
goudeuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:32 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Thu May 19, 2016 11:08 am

Was the restored image a backup of the entire disk? If not, what partition(s) did you back up and restore? What restore options did you use? You may need to use the "Write Standard MBR Code" option.

Check that the BIOS boot order is correct. Some don't adjust well to disk/layout changes.

Also, you may need to install the RAID storage controller drivers (the single drive was probably in AHCI mode). The TBOSDT OSDTOOL script can be used to install the drivers.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby goudeuk » Fri May 20, 2016 2:19 am

Yes the restored image is a backup of an entire disk with 2 partitions. I'm tying to restore the whole backup not just one partition. I can confirm that the backup works because I successfully restored it on a single disk.

Please see below the steps I take when I try to restore the same image on a set of Raided1 disks.

1. UEFI boot is disabled and the boot order is: Optical Drive, Hard Disk Drive, Removable Drive, Network.

2. SATA is set to RAID and disk configured as RAID1.

3. Boot off the "image for linux" disk and open "OSD Tool", then hit 'Physical'

4. Select windows installation: "HD0: MBR1 Part 02) 200Gib NTFS/exFAT/HPFS/+(\Widows)"
This is the windows partition on my backup disk.

5. I press any key to confirm installation

6. I then go to: "Install drivers" -- "Install a specific driver" and then browse to where the RAID drivers are and install them. The drivers I install are "iaAHCIC.inf" and "iaStorAC.inf". After they get installed I close "OSD Tool", open the main GUI and hit "restore a backup to this computer."

Am I doing anything wrong?
Thank you
goudeuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:32 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby goudeuk » Fri May 20, 2016 4:52 am

Since my last post I also tried the following but I got the same error at the end.

1. Using "OSD Tool" -- Removed all installed drivers

2. then went to "Install Driver" ---> "Install windows provided storage drivers" and chose the "iastorv" driver.

Unfortunately, it didn't work. Was that the right RAID driver to choose?

I presume "Installing a Mass Storage Driver not included with Windows" would be the next thing to follow.
goudeuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:32 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby Eric » Fri May 20, 2016 7:10 am

You may also need to instal the default IDE/AHCI drivers.
Eric
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Fri May 20, 2016 8:55 am

After removing installed drivers you could try installing just the iaStorAC driver.

Note that if the BIOS isn't booting the RAID drive correctly it won't matter what drivers are installed. Normally, you get a BSOD type error with incorrect storage drivers. Does the RAID have a "bootable" setting? Have you tried resetting the MBR code on the RAID? Does Windows start booting (Windows logo screen, etc.) or is the error immediately after the BIOS finishes and before Windows would start?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1108
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby TeraByte Support » Fri May 20, 2016 4:44 pm

new hardware (system) means you need to remove all existing drivers, then
install all standard drivers, then install your specific raid driver.

But "error loading operating system" is different. That can be geometry
related, or wrong partition loading, or the BIOS support for loading. So
ensure your raid controller is configured to support a BIOS and all drive
information is detected and supported for its size. Make sure the correct
partition is active (if you do an entire drive backup/restore it will be by
default). Check in BIBM partition work properties of the partitions to see
if you get a BPB warning message and if so, fix it.



"goudeuk" wrote in message news:11566@public.image...

Yes the restored image is a backup of an entire disk with 2 partitions. I'm
tying to restore the whole backup not just one partition. I can confirm that
the backup works because I successfully restored it on a single disk.

Please see below the steps I take when I try to restore the same image on a
set of Raided1 disks.

1. UEFI boot is disabled and the boot order is: Optical Drive, Hard Disk
Drive, Removable Drive, Network.

2. SATA is set to RAID and disk configured as RAID1.

3. Boot off the "image for linux" disk and open "OSD Tool", then hit
'Physical'

4. Select windows installation: "HD0: MBR1 Part 02) 200Gib
NTFS/exFAT/HPFS/+(\Widows)"
This is the windows partition on my backup disk.

5. I press any key to confirm installation

6. I then go to: "Install drivers" -- "Install a specific driver" and then
browse to where the RAID drivers are and install them. The drivers I install
are "iaAHCIC.inf" and "iaStorAC.inf". After they get installed I close "OSD
Tool", open the main GUI and hit "restore a backup to this computer."

Am I doing anything wrong?
Thank you

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2325
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby goudeuk » Tue May 24, 2016 3:42 am

Hi Paul

Please see my answers below:

1. Does the RAID have a bootable setting?
I don't see anything inside the raid config utility or the BIOS about making the raid bootable.

2. Have you tried resetting the MBR code on the RAID?
Yes I did by following the instructions on this link: https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/927392
In cmd I run:
- bootrec /fixmbr = Output: The Operation was successful
- bootrec /fixboot = Output: The Operation was successful
- bootrec /rebuildbcd = Output: Scanning all disks for windows installations.
Successfully scanned windows installations. Total identified Windows installations: 0.
The Operation was successful.

I rebooted the computer but I get the same error. I then backed-up, renamed and recreated the bcd file.

- bootrec /rebuildbcd = Output: Scanning all disks for windows installations.
Successfully scanned windows installations. Total identified Windows installations: 1.
Add installation to boot list? typed yes. The Operation completed successfully.

In all cases I got the same error after rebooting the PC.

3. Does Windows start booting or is the error immediately after the BIOS finishes and before Windows would start?
Yes the error comes up before windows would start. BIOS starts, then the RAID configuration pops up showing that RAID is in "normal" mode and that
both disks are "member" disks

3. I un-installed all drivers and reinstalled just the "iaStorAC" driver as you suggested, then run the IFL restore but the result was the same.

-----------------------------------------------------
To Terabyte support:

<<But "error loading operating system" is different. That can be geometry
related, or wrong partition loading, or the BIOS support for loading. So
ensure your raid controller is configured to support a BIOS and all drive
information is detected and supported for its size.>>

I'm not sure what you mean exactly. My RAID1 config seems to be functioning. It can see both drives and their sizes.


<<Make sure the correct partition is active (if you do an entire drive backup/restore it will be by default). >>
I do an entire drive backup and restore


<<Check in BIBM partition work properties of the partitions to see if you get a BPB warning message and if so, fix it.>>
What is BIBM? and where can I find the partition work properties please?


Many thanks
goudeuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:32 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby Bob Coleman » Tue May 24, 2016 3:49 pm

goudeuk wrote:

> What is BIBM? and where can I find the partition work properties please?

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/index.htm

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/bootit-bare-metal.htm
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: Error loading operating system

Postby goudeuk » Fri May 27, 2016 1:41 am

There are no warning messages under "partition properties" in BIBM.

If there is anything else for me to try, please let me know.
Has anyone actually managed to restore an entire single disk to RAID1?

Thank you
goudeuk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:32 am

Next

Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows