PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOOT_DE

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOOT_DE

Postby jkaczmarek » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:50 pm

Hi!

Image for Windows was working fine for me for a while. Running Windows 10 (10586). Then recently I went to make a backup (I've always used Phylock) and immediately get an error "Unable to obtain a lock on drive c:" please ensure that PHYLock was installed and not disabled."

I figured something happened to the PHYLock service, so I tried reinstalling Image for Windows including PHYlock (and the same thing happens if you download PHYlock by itself). Upon reboot, I get a BSOD "INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE". At this point I either have to system restore or restore a backup.

I thought it might be a conflict w/ my AV (running Comodo internet security atm) so I uninstalled then reinstalled image. Same thing, INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE.

Unfortunately, I hadn't done a backup in like a month so it's really hard to pin-point when Image and Phylock stopped working.

Anyone have any ideas what went wrong here or ideas to diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

Jeff
jkaczmarek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:41 pm

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOOT_DE

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:44 pm

You probably have phylock.sys in upperfilters but the .sys doesn't exist on
the drive. If your AV program deleted it, it will cause the BSOD. So
either manually copy, or edit the registry and remove phylock.sys from
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet
\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

(boot last known good config will work if phylock wasn't installed prior
since the upper filters would be blank, but boot last good doesn't put back
files, just reverts the registry).


"jkaczmarek" wrote in message news:10971@public.image...

Hi!

Image for Windows was working fine for me for a while. Running Windows 10
(10586). Then recently I went to make a backup (I've always used Phylock)
and immediately get an error "Unable to obtain a lock on drive c:" please
ensure that PHYLock was installed and not disabled."

I figured something happened to the PHYLock service, so I tried reinstalling
Image for Windows including PHYlock (and the same thing happens if you
download PHYlock by itself). Upon reboot, I get a BSOD
"INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE". At this point I either have to system restore
or restore a backup.

I thought it might be a conflict w/ my AV (running Comodo internet security
atm) so I uninstalled then reinstalled image. Same thing,
INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE.

Unfortunately, I hadn't done a backup in like a month so it's really hard to
pin-point when Image and Phylock stopped working.

Anyone have any ideas what went wrong here or ideas to diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

Jeff

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOOT_DE

Postby TeraByte Support » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:45 pm

(you may also be able to just run the phylock setup and choose to uninstall
or install then uninstall until you check your AV to ensure it doesn’t'
delete it).

"jkaczmarek" wrote in message news:10971@public.image...

Hi!

Image for Windows was working fine for me for a while. Running Windows 10
(10586). Then recently I went to make a backup (I've always used Phylock)
and immediately get an error "Unable to obtain a lock on drive c:" please
ensure that PHYLock was installed and not disabled."

I figured something happened to the PHYLock service, so I tried reinstalling
Image for Windows including PHYlock (and the same thing happens if you
download PHYlock by itself). Upon reboot, I get a BSOD
"INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE". At this point I either have to system restore
or restore a backup.

I thought it might be a conflict w/ my AV (running Comodo internet security
atm) so I uninstalled then reinstalled image. Same thing,
INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE.

Unfortunately, I hadn't done a backup in like a month so it's really hard to
pin-point when Image and Phylock stopped working.

Anyone have any ideas what went wrong here or ideas to diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

Jeff

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOO

Postby jkaczmarek » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:41 am

Weird, I currently don't have phylock in upper filters. I tried manually adding it, it gives the INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE.

I do have phylock.sys in c:\windows\system32\drivers File Version 2.0.12.0 36,376 bytes.

Dunno if it helps but on {4d36e967-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318} registry key my current upper filters just says PartMgr
Lowerfilters SamsungRapidDiskFltr EhStorClass

So any ideas how I can get phylock driver working again? If not, and this may be dumb question but I'd just like be 100% sure, is backing up w/ Image for DOS vs. Image for Windows the same backup? This issue is starting to give me a headache and if I can just switch to Image for DOS straight from BIBM might just be better solution for me than banging my head on this (although I hate having an OS issue I can't fix, I'd love to know WHY this is failing).

Thnaks!

Jeff
jkaczmarek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:41 pm

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOO

Postby Bob Coleman » Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:53 am

I don't know anything about the problem, but, yes, IFD and IFW are interchangeable. Either can restore images created by the other.
Bob Coleman
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:58 am

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOO

Postby mjnelson99 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:59 pm

Image for Linux (IFL) is another good option.

On 1/28/2016 12:53 PM, Bob Coleman wrote:
> I don't know anything about the problem, but, yes, IFD and IFW are interchangeable. Either can restore images created by the other.
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: PhyLock not working, reinstalling causes INACCESABLE_BOO

Postby TeraByte Support » Fri Jan 29, 2016 12:18 am

then the bsod isn't caused by phylock.sys missing from
c:\windows\system32\drivers . if it's not in upperfilters then it's
basically not installed. Ensure the currentcontrolset you're looking at is
the one that is used when booting. If anything in that list is missing
you'll get a bsod.

use the phylock installer to install to ensure the correct version is used.
what did you install or change prior to having a problem?

"jkaczmarek" wrote in message news:10975@public.image...

Weird, I currently don't have phylock in upper filters. I tried manually
adding it, it gives the INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE.

I do have phylock.sys in c:\windows\system32\drivers File Version 2.0.12.0
36,376 bytes.

Dunno if it helps but on {4d36e967-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318} registry key
my current upper filters just says PartMgr
Lowerfilters SamsungRapidDiskFltr EhStorClass

So any ideas how I can get phylock driver working again? If not, and this
may be dumb question but I'd just like be 100% sure, is backing up w/ Image
for DOS vs. Image for Windows the same backup? This issue is starting to
give me a headache and if I can just switch to Image for DOS straight from
BIBM might just be better solution for me than banging my head on this
(although I hate having an OS issue I can't fix, I'd love to know WHY this
is failing).

Thnaks!

Jeff

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2332
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows