Page 1 of 1

remove multi-pass option?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:16 pm
by TeraByte Support
Just wanted to check if anyone finds the multi-pass option helpful on their
configuration?


Re: remove multi-pass option?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:09 pm
by Bob Coleman
Not really. I've used it a few times just to see the restore walking through the chain, but I certainly don't need it.

Re: remove multi-pass option?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:08 pm
by Bob Coleman
I've recently noticed though that with a chain of incrementals, at least in IFD, multi-pass takes less time than single-pass. To be fair, I've only observed this on one set of backups. It could possibly be an anomaly related to that particular set. No observations one way or the other with any other sets.

Re: remove multi-pass option?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:07 pm
by Bob Coleman
I've done more tests. This observation seems generally repeatable.

Bob Coleman wrote:
> I've recently noticed though that with a chain of incrementals, at least in
> IFD, multi-pass takes less time than single-pass. To be fair, I've only
> observed this on one set of backups. It could possibly be an anomaly
> related to that particular set. No observations one way or the other with
> any other sets.