Verification takes hours...

User discussion and information resource forum for Image products.

Verification takes hours...

Postby jeffw_00 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:57 am

Hi - I run a backup on a partition with about 60GB every night. I then copy the files to another machine for safekeeping, and do a verify on the remote machine to make sure the copy was ok. I do a full once a week, and a differential on the other nights. The differential takes about an hour to backup and verify. However, recently, the verify on the remote machine has been taking 4-5 hours. No problems, it just plods through it very slowly.

I'm looking for advice on how to fix this - any suggestions on where to look?

Thanks!
/j
jeffw_00
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:46 am

Re: Verification takes hours...

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:34 am

Are you using IFW?

How is the remote machine connected?

Has anything changed on either system (updated drivers/firmware, router, switch, cables, etc.)?

Is anything odd showing up in the IFW.LOG file or in the Windows Event Viewer logs?

Does copying a large file to/from the remote machine process at the same speed as before?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1087
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Verification takes hours...

Postby jeffw_00 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:42 am

Are you using IFW? YES

How is the remote machine connected? GIGABIT ETHERNET (WIRED)

Has anything changed on either system (updated drivers/firmware, router, switch, cables, etc.) ROUTER CHANGED TO A FIOS ROUTER

Is anything odd showing up in the IFW.LOG file or in the Windows Event Viewer logs? NO

Does copying a large file to/from the remote machine process at the same speed as before? YES

Thanks
jeffw_00
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:46 am

Re: Verification takes hours...

Postby jeffw_00 » Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:07 pm

help? 8-}
/j
jeffw_00
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:46 am

Re: Verification takes hours...

Postby TeraByte Support » Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:05 pm

first thing is to undo your changes, then you know if it's in the new
router (ensure it's firmware is up to date). You could try using the /iobs
setting examples to see if it helps at all, if not could try some of the /po
options.

"jeffw_00" wrote in message news:503@public.image...

help? 8-}
/j

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2273
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm


Return to Image for DOS/Linux/Windows