It had to be me...

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

It had to be me...

Postby DrTeeth » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:49 pm

I have always had this special talent when buying something...to get a
faulty unit and have to battle to get redress. My son (poor sod) seems
to have inherited this "gift".

I just got a new laptop without an OS installed as I have a retail
copy of Win 7.

I wished to install BIBM first, mainly to avoid having a system
partition created and having to remove it later.

I could not install BIBM no matter what I did. The BIOS just did not
report the hard disk at all so BIBM saw nothing. Strangely, Win 7
would install and then I could see the disk in BIBM and manipulate the
partitions - but a BIBM install was still a no-go.

Trying to boot my second install of windows produced screenshot here
http://guysim.co.uk/nova/IMG_0003.JPG . This is what will show when
the retailer boot it.

I did email TBU support and got some replies, but it seems that if the
BIOS does not report the disk correctly there is nothing that BIBM can
do.

Should the retailer not play fair and I have a fight on my hands, I
may have to ask somebody here to write a report for my case. I could
be in the position of having to prove to a non-technical judge what a
faulty BIOS is as the retailer may take the stance that if win7 can be
installed and run, the computer is not faulty.

Sorry for the rant, but a feel a bit better for it! Has anybody else
had this issue before? I am in England...thought I would mention it as
some replies may not apply under our laws.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose to dance
in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: It had to be me...

Postby mjnelson99 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:28 pm

A I understand it, some of the new BIOS are not a BIOS but
another type that can be restricted by a PC manufacturer as
to what can be installed.

Look it up and you may find something about it.

It is a bit amazing that the hard disk does not show up at
all on booting.

If you can format the disk from the Windows DVD and mark it
active, that system partition will not show up.

Good luck.
Mary

On 4/12/2012 3:49 PM, DrTeeth wrote:
> I have always had this special talent when buying something...to get a
> faulty unit and have to battle to get redress. My son (poor sod) seems
> to have inherited this "gift".
>
> I just got a new laptop without an OS installed as I have a retail
> copy of Win 7.
>
> I wished to install BIBM first, mainly to avoid having a system
> partition created and having to remove it later.
>
> I could not install BIBM no matter what I did. The BIOS just did not
> report the hard disk at all so BIBM saw nothing. Strangely, Win 7
> would install and then I could see the disk in BIBM and manipulate the
> partitions - but a BIBM install was still a no-go.
>
> Trying to boot my second install of windows produced screenshot here
> http://guysim.co.uk/nova/IMG_0003.JPG . This is what will show when
> the retailer boot it.
>
> I did email TBU support and got some replies, but it seems that if the
> BIOS does not report the disk correctly there is nothing that BIBM can
> do.
>
> Should the retailer not play fair and I have a fight on my hands, I
> may have to ask somebody here to write a report for my case. I could
> be in the position of having to prove to a non-technical judge what a
> faulty BIOS is as the retailer may take the stance that if win7 can be
> installed and run, the computer is not faulty.
>
> Sorry for the rant, but a feel a bit better for it! Has anybody else
> had this issue before? I am in England...thought I would mention it as
> some replies may not apply under our laws.
> --
>
> Cheers
>
> DrT
> ______________________________
> We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
> our lives; but we can always choose to dance
> in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: It had to be me...

Postby Brian K » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:31 pm

DrT,

I recall a few laptops where BING on a CD didn't see the HD but BING on a USB flash drive did see the HD. Have you tried USB?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: It had to be me...

Postby a1pcfixer » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:42 pm

Mjnelson99,

> A I understand it, some of the new BIOS are not a BIOS but
> another type that can be restricted by a PC manufacturer as
> to what can be installed.

That'd be a UEFI type that replaces the std BIOS.
--

Jim L.
Using - Virtual Access(OLR)
http://www.virtual-access.org
6.3.0.5 Windows Vista Service Pack 2 build 6002

a1pcfixer
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:13 pm

Re: It had to be me...

Postby a1pcfixer » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:42 pm

DrTeeth,

> I just got a new laptop without an OS installed as I have a retail
> copy of Win 7.

I bet ya got a retail version of a Dell/HP/Gateway/etc., And it's got
an UEFI style BIOS and it's a SSD drive as well.....hmmmm?

IF it's one of those major brand names, then maybe they 'locked' their
UEFI to MS Win 7.

Try connecting another HDD and see what happens.
--

Jim L.
Using - Virtual Access(OLR)
http://www.virtual-access.org
6.3.0.5 Windows Vista Service Pack 2 build 6002

a1pcfixer
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:13 pm

Re: It had to be me...

Postby DrTeeth » Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:03 am

Hi all,

I did manage to install windows, used BIBM to create space and created a dedicated partition and could not install.

Most of the time (> 90%) no HDD shows up in BIBM. In partition works, under the BIOS box, just an empty space with a '0' after it (to signify no HDDs) to the right of it.

I was using an SD card in a USB adaptor with BIBM on it.

Got to go, at work and a patient waiting :o

DrT
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: It had to be me...

Postby DrTeeth » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:14 pm

On Thu, 12 Apr 2012 15:42:50 PDT, just as I was about to take a herb,
a1pcfixer disturbed my reverie and wrote:

>I bet ya got a retail version of a Dell/HP/Gateway/etc., And it's got
>an UEFI style BIOS and it's a SSD drive as well.....hmmmm?

No. It was a Pegatron A15HC which was rebadged by one of the bigger
retailers here in the UK (Novatech). Judging by the dates on the
driver disk and the spec, it had a plain BIOS. It was a hybrid drive
(Seagate Momentus 500GB). I may have a battle on my hands as they may
consider the laptop not to be faulty if it runs windows (I bought it
without an OS installed).

FWIW, I got my first (and last) Dell in 1995 and won't have another.
--

Cheers

DrT
______________________________
We may not be able to prevent the stormy times in
our lives; but we can always choose to dance
in the puddles (Jewish proverb).
DrTeeth
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:58 am


Return to BootIt Bare Metal