Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby Brian K » Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:47 pm

Mary,

Any news for us concerning your Boot Menu? Does F9 work?
Brian K
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mjnelson99 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:49 pm

I haven't tried new testing.
ESC is the only one I have had success with at present.

For me, getting to the bios is not a winner, though. It is in Spanish
and unless I photo & translate the menus, I would be pretty lost.
The menu that comes up holding Shift from within Windows 10 IS in
English and very clear.
Mary

On Mon, Jan 30, 2017 2:47 PM, Brian K wrote:
> Mary,
>
> Any news for us concerning your Boot Menu? Does F9 work?
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby Brian K » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:18 pm

F9 should bring up a Boot Menu. You don't need to use Esc. See TeraByte Support's post.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mjnelson99 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:38 pm

I did try F9. It works on a cold boot as well as restarting w/o pushing
Shift.

I get the English language boot options that USUALLY include IFL. It
does not always work, just most of the time on this testing.

Thanks for that suggestion. It will make imaging much easier.
Mary

On Mon, Jan 30, 2017 4:18 PM, Brian K wrote:
> F9 should bring up a Boot Menu. You don't need to use Esc.

See TeraByte Support's post.
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby Brian K » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:49 pm

Mary, great news. Thanks.
Brian K
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mashedmitten » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:51 pm

Appears you can change BIOS language on some HPs. Follow the instructions for your model.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Commercial ... -p/5046772
mashedmitten
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mjnelson99 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:41 am

Thanks. I will check it out. This computer is mfg in Mexico so I will
move cautiously.

I wish Mexico would support more regular desktop computers. They like
AIO's almost exclusively. And I understand they forbid bringing in a
regular or small form factor desktop.

On Mon, Jan 30, 2017 10:51 PM, mashedmitten wrote:
> Appears you can change BIOS language on some HPs. Follow the instructions for your model.
>
> [
> http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Commercial ... -p/5046772
> ](http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Commercial-PC-Software/Bios-language-change-in-HP-Z420-workstation-PC/td-p/5046772)
>
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mjnelson99 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:18 am

I found a good article on managing the bios. It was from 2015 and the
path he recommended did not work.
I let HP identify my AIO. There IS a bios update there from Aug or so
2016. Am getting advice from a local computer guru on installing it. I
sent him a link to the page at HP.

On Mon, Jan 30, 2017 10:51 PM, mashedmitten wrote:
> Appears you can change BIOS language on some HPs. Follow the instructions for your model.
>
> [
> http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Commercial ... -p/5046772
> ](http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Commercial-PC-Software/Bios-language-change-in-HP-Z420-workstation-PC/td-p/5046772)
>
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mashedmitten » Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:09 pm

Flashing BIOS is cake. Make sure, if a laptop, it's plugged in and once started DON"T INTERRUPT THE PROCESS.
mashedmitten
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: Booting UEFI/GPT in Win 10

Postby mjnelson99 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:49 pm

The bios I found on the HP site is for Intel and a different motherboard
than my computer is. It IS the same model number, just 2 different
configurations. So, no go.

I was unable to find a bios that might work.
Mary

On Tue, Jan 31, 2017 5:09 PM, mashedmitten wrote:
> Flashing BIOS is cake. Make sure, if a laptop,

it's plugged in and once started DON"T INTERRUPT THE PROCESS.
>
>
mjnelson99
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:24 pm

Previous

Return to BootIt Bare Metal