Bootnow HD read error

User discussion and information resource forum for BootIt Bare Metal.

Bootnow HD read error

Postby tas3086 » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:57 pm

I get the HD read error message when running bootnow 1.3a

c:\windows\bootnow.ini contains:
[OPTIONS]
hd=2

Command being run: bootnow 5/run;bui8.tbs

Any idea why I get the error on almost any bootnow function ... ie: bootnow 5 or bootnow Win7
tas3086
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby TeraByte Support » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:07 pm

You need to set it to run as administrator (right click, properties).

"tas3086" wrote in message news:6428@public.bootitbm...

I get the HD read error message when running bootnow 1.3a

c:\windows\bootnow.ini contains:
[OPTIONS]
hd=2

Command being run: bootnow 5/run;bui8.tbs

Any idea why I get the error on almost any bootnow function ... ie: bootnow
5 or bootnow Win7

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby tas3086 » Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:27 am

Sorry for not posting this in the first post.

I have the shortcut setup to run as administrator, and I also started a dos command line prompt as administrator, and ran various BOOTNOW command tests from there as well. All produced the same HD read error. When I run the command without the bootnow.ini file I get the error EMBR not found, so I believe that it is reading the bootnow.ini file correctly. Additionally, BOOTNOW is checked in the BootITBM configuration. BIBM is at version 1.20

( The partition where BOOTITBM is stored is hidden (via BootitBM) from the windows 7 partition that is running the BOOTNOW command. Does that make a difference? )

Any ideas?
tas3086
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:15 am

Is hard disk #2 (HD=2) the correct drive. That would normally be the third drive. That error will occur if the drive reference is invalid (e.g. doesn't exist/index too high).

Do you get a different error if you try "HD=0" or "HD=1"?
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby tas3086 » Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:58 pm

I am now very confused, but progress is being made. Bootnow now reboots my system, but nothing else.

I have a 4 hard drive, multi-partitioned, multi-operating system setup. My fastest normally booted drive is a sata6 drive and is unfortunately placed by bios as the last hardware device. Esata drives are first on the list, and because they are removable, it causes lots of hardware ID change problems. That is why I created a TBS Script file to backup (IFD) using partition names rather than HWID# and Partition#.

Please tell me exactly what the BOOTNOW.INI HD=# refers to. Is it the ID of the drive that is the BIOS selected boot drive? The drive that contains BIBM? The drive that has the operating system that is currently running the BOOTNOW program? , Or possibly the drive that contains the BUI8.TBS script that I am trying to invoke?

After that, I assume that the script that is to be invoked is located in the root directory of the BIBM booted partition. Is this true, or is it located somewhere else? Or does bootnow use the HWID#, Partition ID#, and directory path that bootnow is invoked from?

Does it make any difference if BIBM has password protected selection options?

Does it make any difference if BIBM has a default selected boot item?

As you can see I am really frustrated as to why I can not get my script to run using bootnow.

BIBM===>Bootit Bear Metal
tas3086
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby Brian K » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:36 pm

tas3086 wrote:

> Command being run: bootnow 5/run;bui8.tbs
>

Is this a typo for bootnow 5/run=bui8.tbs
Brian K
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:11 pm

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby TeraByte Support » Mon Sep 30, 2013 7:18 pm

If you go to drive management in windows and see that drive 0 is not the
bios boot drive then you'd need the bootnow.ini file to point to the drive
that is the BIOS boot drive, otherwise you don't need it.

Also, in BootIt, the "bootnow support" option must be enabled in settings.


"tas3086" wrote in message news:6438@public.bootitbm...

I am now very confused, but progress is being made. Bootnow now reboots my
system, but nothing else.

I have a 4 hard drive, multi-partitioned, multi-operating system setup. My
fastest normally booted drive is a sata6 drive and is unfortunately placed
by bios as the last hardware device. Esata drives are first on the list,
and because they are removable, it causes lots of hardware ID change
problems. That is why I created a TBS Script file to backup (IFD) using
partition names rather than HWID# and Partition#.

Please tell me exactly what the BOOTNOW.INI HD=# refers to. Is it the ID of
the drive that is the BIOS selected boot drive? The drive that contains
BIBM? The drive that has the operating system that is currently running the
BOOTNOW program? , Or possibly the drive that contains the BUI8.TBS script
that I am trying to invoke?

After that, I assume that the script that is to be invoked is located in the
root directory of the BIBM booted partition. Is this true, or is it located
somewhere else? Or does bootnow use the HWID#, Partition ID#, and directory
path that bootnow is invoked from?

Does it make any difference if BIBM has password protected selection
options?

Does it make any difference if BIBM has a default selected boot item?

As you can see I am really frustrated as to why I can not get my script to
run using bootnow.

BIBM===>Bootit Bear Metal

TeraByte Support
 
Posts: 2335
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby tas3086 » Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:57 pm

Sorry, but something as simple as: BOOTNOW 5 Does not even work.
It Reboots my system and goes back to the BIBM menu with the (default) item 3 Highlighted. Line item 5 is never invoked/started/booted.

Note this is a Windows 7 system. Could that have something to do with it?
Can I somehow verify that BIBM is being told to boot line item 5 ? before it actually restarts the system??
tas3086
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby TeraByte Support(PP) » Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:36 pm

If the booting drive is showing up in Disk Management as the fourth drive then you'll need to use "HD=3" in the BOOTNOW.INI file.

Is it possible you have had BIBM installed to any of the other drives? Maybe it's getting confused, especially if it's finding the BIBM/EMBR info on the specified (incorrect) drive. Are any of the other drives (all eSATA?) all MBR type drives or are any/all of them EMBR?

The script would need to be in the root folder of the BIBM partition.

Would it be difficult to test with just the booting drive connected? It would be "HD=0" in that case (or just remove/rename the BOOTNOW.INI file so it doesn't get used). At least it would help to find out if the other drives are attributing to the problem.
Paul Purviance
TeraByte Support
TeraByte Support(PP)
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:51 pm

Re: Bootnow HD read error

Postby tas3086 » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:49 am

Disconnected all drives. Windows shows it a Drive 0 and no other drives.

"Bootnow 5" causes system to reboot, but item 3 is still highlighted, and item 5 was never selected/invoked.

What now? Should I remove and reinstall BIBM? If I remove will I delete my configuration file(s)?
tas3086
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 am

Next

Return to BootIt Bare Metal