Knowledge Base Glossary       Exit
(how to) Search  

Browse by Category
Knowledge Base > Operating Systems > Windows > How to Remove Existing Dynamic Drives when Only Simple Volumes are In Use

How to Remove Existing Dynamic Drives when Only Simple Volumes are In Use

  1. Backup the data of the drive whose partitions are to be altered.

  2. Ensure that the drive is using only simple volumes.  To make this determination, run the Disk Management applet (diskmgmt.msc) and check the Layout column for each partition.  You should only proceed if each partition on the drive shows Simple in the Layout column.

    Warning: Performing the following steps on anything other than a Simple volume can result in data loss.

  3. Run BootIt BM, go into Partition Work and select the applicable drive in the Work with Partitions window.

  4. For each partition on the drive, change the file system ID to 7/7h: HPFS/NTFS (unless it is an extended partition, in which case you should select 5/5h: Extended).  Click OK after each change.

  5. View the Properties of each partition and check for warning messages in the Additional Information portion of the Properties window.  In particular, look for a warning regarding the ending LBA.  If you see a warning regarding the ending LBA, proceed as follows:

    1. Click Cancel to close the Properties window.
    2. Open the Properties window again, this time while holding down the left Shift key.  (Pressing the left Shift key while opening the Properties window allows you to edit the ending LBA.)
    3. Change the End LBA to match the number shown in the warning message.
    4. Click OK to save the change.
    5. Open the Properties window once again (without pressing the Shift key) and verify that the warning message no longer appears.

  6. In the Work with Partitions window, click the View MBR button.

  7. In the View MBR window, click the Std MBR button. Note: Windows 7/8.x/10 users may need to use the Win7 MBR button instead (it may be required for certain Windows systems to boot). 

  8. After clicking OK to dismiss the Notice dialog, click the Apply button on the View MBR window.

  9. If necessary, use the Undelete function (in the Work with Partitions window) to recover any partitions that should but do not appear.

How helpful was this article to you?


powered by Lore